Univ.Prof. Mag.rer.nat. Dr.rer.nat. Christian Obinger

Univ.Prof. Mag.rer.nat. Dr.rer.nat. Christian Obinger

Christian Obinger was born in Salzburg in 1962; he studied chemistry and biochemistry at the University of Vienna (Mag.rer.nat.) and received his natural sciences doctorate in 1992. In 1999, he attained his habilitation in biochemistry from BOKU. Since 2011 he has been Professor of Protein Biochemistry and until 2017 headed the Institute of Biochemistry at the Department of Chemistry. 

From 2009 to 2016, Christian Obinger was also head of the Christian Doppler Laboratory for Antibody Engineering and from 2010 to 2018 he was the spokesperson for the International FWF-funded PhD program BioToP (Biomolecular Technology of Proteins). Among the many other projects he led there are several FWF (Austrian Research Fund) projects. 

At BOKU Christian Obinger has filled various positions to date: Advisory Council for Research, research spokesperson for the Department of Chemistry, head of the City of Vienna Jubilee Funds for BOKU, counsel to the BOKU doctoral programme as well as numerous functions in Science Community Services.
The assigned services and positions of the Vice-Rector for Research and Innovation are:

Contact:
christian.obinger(at)boku.ac.at
+43 1 47654 10011

Vizerektor für Forschung und Innovation


Univ.Prof. Mag.rer.nat. Dr.rer.nat. Christian Obinger

Univ.Prof. Mag.rer.nat. Dr.rer.nat. Christian Obinger

Christian Obinger wurde 1962 in Salzburg geboren; er studierte an der Universität Wien Chemie und Biochemie (Mag.rer.nat.) und promovierte 1992 zum Dr.rer.nat. 1999 erfolgte die Habilitation für Biochemie an der BOKU; seit 2011 ist er Professor für Proteinbiochemie und leitete bis 2017 die Abteilung für Biochemie am Department für Chemie.

Von 2009 bis 2016 war Christian Obinger auch Leiter des Christian Doppler Laboratoriums für Antikörper Engineering und von 2010 bis 2018 Sprecher des Internationalen FWF-geförderten PhD-Programms BioToP (Biomolecular Technology of Proteins). Unter seinen zahlreichen weiteren Projektleitungen finden sich mehrere FWF Einzelprojekte. 

Zu den bisherigen Funktionen von Christian Obinger an der BOKU zählen Beirat für Forschung; Forschungssprecher des Departments für Chemie; Jubiläumsfonds der Stadt Wien; Programmbegleiter des BOKU-Doktoratstudiums als auch zahlreiche Funktionen in Science Community Services.

Zu den Aufgabenbereichen und zugeordneten Einrichtungen des Vizerektors zählen:

Kontakt:
christian.obinger(at)boku.ac.at
+43 1 47654 10011