Schedule and Orientation Phase "STEOP"


BOKU4YOU Logo

How Do I Establish My Schedule?

Before you can actually register for a university course, you first need to activate your BOKU account.

In general it is up to you to decide which courses you attend in which semester. Most important is that at the end of your academic studies you have completed all of the required courses (LVAs) stated in your curriculum. On BOKUonline you can find suggested schedules (semester schedules). With the help of these, you can avoid any overlaps in the course of your university degree program.

At universities, autonomous actions are of utmost priority. This is also the case when it comes to establishing your schedule, which may be individualized to suit your needs. However, in the first semester of your university degree program it is actually very helpful to follow the university's recommendations (which can be found on BOKUonline). Later on in your academic studies you might quite likely wish to develop your more individual schedules.

There are various course types that you need to familiarize with: Lectures (Vorlesung, VO, accessible to the public, mostly no compulsory attendance), Exercises (Übung, UE, compulsory attendance and obligation to register for the course), Projects (Projekt, PJ) and Seminars (Seminar, SE, compulsory attendance and obligation to register for the course) as well as combined forms of the ones mentioned above. Some courses are offered both in the winter- and summer semester. Most, however, are only held in either the one or the other. In order take an exam for a course, you need to register for this exam via BOKUonline in due time. Don't forget the Orientation Phase (STEOP) - these exams have to be completed positively. For exercises and projects participation is restricted. You should try to secure your place as early as possible. It is recommended that you complete about 30 ECTS credit points per semester in order to remain within the minimum study duration. In order to do so, make good use of the semester schedules recommended on BOKUonline (see photos). 

Step by Step:

1. Which courses? The university's recommended semester schedule can be found on BOKUonline (see photos)

2. How to register? Log in and register for selected courses. Help on how to do this can be found here

3. When? Consider dates, information and required preliminary meetings as well as the appointment calendar function in BOKUonline.

4. Where? Course room codes and abbreviations can be found on BOKUonline (or here: locations), the abbreviations used represent the house in which the course is held.

Stundenplan und STEOP


BOKU4YOU Logo

Wie erstelle ich meinen Stundenplan?

Bevor Sie sich zur Teilnahme an Lehrveranstaltungen anmelden können, müssen Sie Ihren BOKU Account aktivieren.

Grundsätzlich können Sie selbst einteilen, in welchem Semester welche Lehrveranstaltung besucht wird. Wichtig ist nur, dass am Ende des Studiums alle vorgeschriebenen Lehrveranstaltungen (LVAs) aus dem Studienplan absolviert wurden. Im BOKUonline findent Sie vorgeschlagene Stundenpläne (Semesterpläne), mit denen Sie Überschneidungen im Laufe des Studiums vermeiden können.

An den Universitäten wird eigenverantwortliches Arbeiten groß geschrieben. So auch bei der Erstellung des Stundenplanes, welcher ganz individuell gestaltet werden kann. In den ersten Semestern des Studiums ist es aber sicherlich hilfreich, wenn Sie dem Vorschlag der Universität (im BOKUonline) folgen. Später werden Sie  wahrscheinlich Ihren individuellen Stundenplan erstellen.

Prinzipiell gibt es die verschiedenen Lehrveranstaltungstypen: Vorlesung VO (öffentlich zugänglich, meist keine Anwesenheitspflicht), Übung UE (Anwesenheits- und Anmeldepflicht), Projekte PJ und Seminare SE (Anwesenheits- und Anmeldepflicht) sowie kombinierte Formen. Manche Lehrveranstaltungen werden sowohl im Winter- als auch im Sommersemester angeboten, aber die meisten nur im Sommer- oder Wintersemester. Um zur jeweiligen Lehrveranstaltung eine Prüfung zu absolvieren, müssen Sie sich rechtzeitig für diese im BOKUonline anmelden. Bitte beachten Sie unbedingt die Lehrveranstaltungen der STEOP (Studieneingangs- und Orientiersphase) - diese finden im ersten Semester statt und müssen postiv absolviert wurden (genaueres ist im jeweiligen Studienplan nachzulesen). Bei Übungen und Projekten ist die Teilnehmerzahl begrenzt - hier sollten Sie sich rechtzeitig um einen Platz kümmern. Es empfiehlt sich ca. 30 ECTS pro Semester abzuschließen, damit man in der Mindeststudiendauer bleiben kann. Hierbei hilft die Semsterplanempfehlung im BOKUonline (siehe Fotos).

Schritt für Schritt:

1. Welche Lehrveranstaltungen? Die Semesterplanempfehlung der Universität im BOKUonline durchforsten (siehe Fotos)

2. Wie anmelden? Einloggen und für die ausgewählten Lehrveranstaltungen anmelden, hier finden Sie Hilfe

3. Wann? Termine, Daten und verpflichtende Vorbesprechungen bzw die Terminkalender-Funktion im BOKUonline beachten

4. Wo? Hörsaal- und Seminarraum-Kürzel sind im BOKUonline zu finden (oder unter Standorte), die Abkürzungen stehen für das Haus, in dem die LVA
angeboten wird