Mission Statement


University of Life

Teaching and Research Center for Renewable Resources

The University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, the Alma Mater Viridis, perceives itself as a teaching and research center for renewable resources, which are necessary for human life. It is BOKU's objective to help make a considerable contribution to the conservation and protection of resources for future generations by providing diversity in its fields of study. Connecting natural sciences, engineering and economic sciences, we wish to increase knowledge of the ecologically and economically sustainable use of natural resources, to provide a harmoniously cultivated landscape.

An important feature of BOKU's research lies in its recognition of future problems and our efforts to provide and stimulate practical relevance, internationality and among disciplines. Interdisciplinary cooperation of scientists on an international level should help create comprehensive questions about the future of our planet and lead to innovative problem solving.

BOKU's teaching is designed holistically and in a coordinated manner. It leads graduates to knowledge, understanding and flexibility. From this program, they gain the willingness to face future challenges and the capability to meet them in a competent way. We teach state of the art content and current issues that are based on dynamic research and a high level of practical relevance using modern didactic methods. This motivates students and graduates to develop their own ideas. Our cosmopolitan scientific vocational education and training enables them to understand complex interdisciplinary relationships.

In order to reach these objectives, cooperation that is based on mutual trust and flexibility is necessary. Whenever possible, those concerned are integrated in the decision making processes, so that all BOKU members can identify with our university and its objectives. This also opens up the possibility for decentralized decision making, effective acting and the ability to respond to new challenges in a flexible manner.

For the public, BOKU is also a competent and self-conscious partner. It combines the willingness to accept criticism with the readiness to take the responsibility of taking a clear position.

We at BOKU commit ourselves to international performance in research and teaching, cooperation on regional, national and international levels, and to receptiveness to new developments.

Leitbild / Mission Statement


Universität des Lebens

Lehr- und Forschungsstätte für erneuerbare Ressourcen

Die Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, die Alma Mater Viridis, versteht sich als Lehr- und Forschungsstätte für erneuerbare Ressourcen, die eine Voraussetzung für das menschliche Leben sind. Aufgabe der BOKU ist es, durch die Vielfalt ihrer Fachgebiete zur Sicherung dieser Lebensgrundlagen für zukünftige Generationen entscheidend beizutragen. Durch die Verbindung von Naturwissenschaften, Technik und Wirtschaftswissenschaften versucht sie, das Wissen um die ökologisch und ökonomisch nachhaltige Nutzung der natürlichen Ressourcen in einer harmonischen Kulturlandschaft zu mehren.

Wichtige Merkmale der Forschung an der BOKU sind das vorausschauende Erfassen von Problemen sowie die Bemühung um Praxisrelevanz, Internationalität und Interdisziplinarität. Das fachübergreifende Zusammenwirken von WissenschafterInnen auf internationalem Niveau soll zu möglichst umfassenden Fragestellungen und kreativen Problemlösungen führen.

Die Lehre an der BOKU wird ganzheitlich und koordiniert gestaltet; sie verhilft den AbsolventInnen zu Wissen, Verständnis und Flexibilität. Daraus beziehen diese die Bereitschaft, sich künftigen Herausforderungen zu stellen, und die Fähigkeit, mit ihnen in kompetenter Weise umzugehen. Getragen von der Dynamik der Forschung und einem hohen Maß an Praxisrelevanz werden mit modernen didaktischen Methoden zeitgemäße Stoffinhalte und aktuelle Bezüge vermittelt. StudentInnen und AbsolventInnen werden dadurch zu eigenen Ideen motiviert. Eine weltoffene wissenschaftliche Berufsvor- und -weiterbildung ermöglicht es ihnen, auch komplexe interdisziplinäre Zusammenhänge zu erfassen.

Zum Erreichen dieser Ziele sind eine von Vertrauen getragene Zusammenarbeit aller und eine flexible Organisation erforderlich. Betroffene werden soweit wie möglich in die Vorbereitung von Entscheidungen eingebunden, sodass sich alle Angehörigen der BOKU mit ihr und ihren Zielsetzungen identifizieren können. Dadurch entsteht die Möglichkeit, auch dezentral zu entscheiden, effektiver zu handeln und flexibel auf neue Anforderungen zu reagieren.

Für die Öffentlichkeit ist die BOKU eine kompetente und selbstbewusste Partnerin. Sie verbindet die Bereitschaft, Kritik anzunehmen, mit der Verpflichtung, offen und klar Stellung zu beziehen.

Die BOKU bekennt sich zu internationalem Leistungsvergleich in Forschung und Lehre, zur Zusammenarbeit über regionale und nationale Grenzen hinweg und zur initiativen Aufgeschlossenheit gegenüber neuen Entwicklungen.