Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.nat.techn. Hubert Hasenauer

Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.nat.techn. Hubert Hasenauer

On February 1, 2018, Hubert Hasenauer acceded to be Rector of BOKU, the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna. Dr. Hasenauer is a distinguished Professor of Forest Ecosystem Management and is designated to head the “University of Life” together with his team until January 31, 2022. 

Hubert Hasenauer was born in 1962 in Saalfelden. He graduated in forest sciences from BOKU and then was a Fulbright and Schrödinger Fellow researching at Virginia Tech and at the University of Montana in the USA. After additional research and teaching stays in Finland and in the US, he did his habilitation in 1998 on "Forest Growth and Forest Ecosystem Modelling". In 2007, he was appointed Professor of Forest Ecosystem Management at BOKU.

In addition to his scientific expertise, Hubert Hasenauer brings seven years of experience as Senate Chair of BOKU as well as speaker of the Senate Chairs of Austrian Universities and as a member of the Austrian University Conference to his position. 

The Chairman of the University Council, Dr. Kurt Weinberger, appreciates the constructive cooperation with the university leadership: "Due to his scientific and administrative experience, Hubert Hasenauer is well versed with BOKU's structure and challenges." 

Hubert Hasenauer in FIS / Forschungsinformationssystem of BOKU

Contact:
hubert.hasenauer(at)boku.ac.at
+43 1 47654 1001

Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.nat.techn. Hubert Hasenauer

Univ.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.nat.techn. Hubert Hasenauer

Hubert Hasenauer hat mit 1. Februar 2018 das Amt als Rektor der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien angetreten. Der Professor für Waldökosystemmanagement wird mit seinem Team bis 31. Jänner 2022 die „Universität des Lebens“ leiten.

Hubert Hasenauer wurde 1962 in Saalfelden geboren; er absolvierte das Studium der Forstwissenschaften an der BOKU um danach als Fullbright- und Schrödinger-Stipendiat am Virginia Tech und an der University of Montana in den USA zu forschen. Nach weiteren Forschungs- und Lehraufenthalten in Finnland und Amerika erfolgte 1998 die Habilitation mit dem Thema "Waldwachstum und Waldökosystemmodellierung"; 2007 wurde er zum Professor für Waldökosystemmanagement an der BOKU berufen.

Neben seiner wissenschaftlichen Kompetenz bringt Hubert Hasenauer sieben Jahre Erfahrung als Senatsvorsitzender der BOKU sowie als Sprecher der Senatsvorsitzenden der Österreichischen Universitäten und als Mitglied der Österreichischen Hochschulkonferenz in sein Amt ein.

Der Vorsitzende des Universitätsrats, Dr. Kurt Weinberger, weiß die konstruktive Zusammenarbeit mit der Universitätsleitung zu schätzen: "Hubert Hasenauer ist aufgrund seiner wissenschaftlichen und administrativen Erfahrungen bestens mit den Strukturen und Herausforderungen der BOKU vertraut."

Hubert Hasenauer im FIS / Forschungsinformationssystem der BOKU

Kontakt:
hubert.hasenauer(at)boku.ac.at
+43 1 47654 1001