Master's thesis


Choosing the thesis topic and supervisor

Students may choose their own thesis topics and supervisors (university professors, honorary professors, professors emeritus or university lecturers). The Dean of Studies may also appoint individuals from other accredited domestic or international universities as thesis supervisors, provided that these individuals possess a teaching credential deemed equivalent to an Austrian habilitation.

The same topic may also be prepared and researched by several students if their individual input can be assessed.

After consulting with the thesis supervisor and relevant institute head, students will enter the title of the agreed-upon topic and the supervisor into the Master's thesis registration form (with the exception of Master's students of degrees with examination before an examination committee who have to specify two examiners and examination subjects. When selecting examination subjects, please refer to the provisions specified in the curricula). The proposal must be submitted to the Study Services for approval.

The title of the thesis is provisional and can be changed at any point before the thesis is completed. The supervisor and the second examiner can also be changed until the thesis is submitted. All changes require the approval of the Dean of Studies. For more information, please contact the Study Services.

The Dean of Studies is responsible for determining the composition of the examination board, although students have a say in the choice of examiners and examination date. The thesis supervisor is also responsible for assessing the thesis and is usually part of the committee. If the supervisor is not a member of the BOKU faculty, the second examiner must be a member of the BOKU faculty.

The author of a Master's thesis is entitled to apply for a use restriction on submitted copies of the thesis. For information regarding use restriction, see Restricted access for scientific papers. In the absence of an approved restriction, the Master's thesis is effectively approved for public display in the library of the University for Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna. 


Master's thesis registration (for courses of study with a Master's examination)
Master's thesis registration (for courses of study with a presentation or defensio)
Application for appointment of an examiner and supervisor

Copyright

Students and supervisors must observe the provisions of the Austrian Copyright Act, Federal Law Gazette no. 111/1936 while working on a Master's thesis.  

Abstracts

Students must enter the abstracts of their theses – written in both German and English – into the abstract application of the Central Information System (http://www.boku.ac.at/abstracts.html). After the Master's thesis has been registered, the Study Services will create a record, which can be edited using students' access permission. The supervisor is responsible for closing the record.

You are expected to meet high standards of quality with your abstract as it will be displayed on the Internet and will thus form a part of BOKU’s international presentation. The popular science part of the abstract must be accessible to the general public in addition to experts. This part of the abstract will also be read aloud at the graduation ceremony. It is important that both the objective and the results of the thesis be properly conveyed.

Masterarbeiten


Masterarbeiten

Wahl des Themas und der Betreuungsperson

Studierende können Thema und Betreuerin bzw. Betreuer (Universitätsprofessorin bzw. Universitätsprofessor, Honorarprofessorin bzw. Honorarprofessor, emeritierte Universitätsprofessorin bzw. emeritierter Universtätsprofessor, Universitätsdozentin bzw. Universitätsdozent) der Masterarbeit selbst wählen. Weiters können von der Studiendekanin bzw. vom Studiendekan auch Personen einer anerkannten inländischen oder ausländischen Universität zur Betreuung einer Masterarbeit herangezogen werden, wenn diese eine Lehrbefugnis besitzen, die einer österreichischen Habilitation gleichzuhalten ist.

Die gemeinsame Bearbeitung eines Themas durch mehrere Studierende ist zulässig, wenn die Leistungen der einzelnen Studierenden gesondert beurteilbar bleiben.

Vor Beginn der Masterarbeit werden nach Absprache mit der Betreuerin bzw. dem Betreuer und der betreffenden Institutsleiterin bzw. dem betreffenden Institutsleiter der Titel des vereinbarten Themas und die Betreuerin bzw. der Betreuerin in das dazu vorgesehene Anmeldeformular eingetragen (Ausnahme: Studierende eines Masterstudiums mit kommissioneller Masterprüfung legen auch Prüfungsfächer fest. Bei der Auswahl der Prüfungsfächer sind die in den Studienplänen festgelegten Bestimmungen zu beachten.) Der Vorschlag ist in den ZfL-Studienservices zur Genehmigung vorzulegen.

Das Thema hat zunächst den Charakter eines Arbeitstitels und kann bis zum Abschluss der Masterarbeit noch abgeändert werden. Auch die Betreuerin bzw. der Betreuer und die zweite Prüferin bzw. der zweite Prüfer können bis zum Einreichen der Masterarbeit geändert werden. Für alle Änderungen ist das Einverständnis der Studiendekanin bzw. des Studiendekans einzuholen. Nähere Auskünfte erhalten Sie in den ZfL-Studienservices .

Die Zusammensetzung des Prüfungssenats bestimmt die Studiendekanin bzw. der Studiendekan. Bezüglich der Prüferinnen bzw. Prüfer und des Prüfungsdatums hat die/der Studierende ein Vorschlagsrecht. Die Betreuerin bzw. der Betreuer einer Masterarbeit übernimmt gleichzeitig die Begutachtung und ist bei der Masterprüfung/Defensio in der Regel auch Teil der Kommission. Ist die Betreuerin bzw. der Betreuer keine BOKU-Angehörige bzw. kein BOKU-Angehöriger, dann muss die zweite Prüferin bzw. der zweite Prüfer von der BOKU kommen.

Die Verfasserin bzw. der Verfasser einer Masterarbeit ist berechtigt, einen Ausschluss der Benützung der abgelieferten Exemplare zu beantragen. Sämtliche Informationen zur Benützungsbeschränkung finden Sie unter Sperre von wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten. Ohne genehmigte Sperre ist die Masterarbeit prinzipiell für die öffentliche Aufstellung in der Bibliothek der Universität für Bodenkultur freigegeben. 


Anmeldung der Masterarbeit (für Studienrichtungen mit Masterprüfung)
Anmeldung der Masterarbeit (für Studienrichtungen mit Präsentation oder Defensio)
Antrag auf Bestellung eines/einer Prüfer/in bzw. Betreuer/in

Urheberrecht

Bei der Bearbeitung des Themas und bei der Betreuung der Studierenden sind die Bestimmungen des Urheberrechtsgesetzes, BGBl Nr. 111/1936, zu beachten.  

Abstracts

Die in deutscher und englischer Sprache abzufassenden Abstracts der Masterarbeit sind von der/dem Studierenden in die Abstracts-Applikation des Zentralen Informatikdienstes (http://www.boku.ac.at/abstracts.html) einzugeben. Dazu legen die ZfL-Studienservices nach der Anmeldung der Masterarbeit einen Datensatz an, den die/der Studierende mit ihrer/seiner Zugriffsberechtigung bearbeiten kann. Das Schließen des Datensatzes erfolgt durch die Betreuerin bzw. den Betreuer.

Es wird erwartet, dass auf die Abfassung des Abstracts großer Wert gelegt wird, weil die endgültige Fassung im Internet abgefragt werden kann und einen Teil der internationalen Präsentation der BOKU darstellt. Der populärwissenschaftliche Teil ist so abzufassen, dass der Inhalt der Masterarbeit nicht nur von Experten, sondern tatsächlich von der Allgemeinheit verstanden wird. Dieser populärwissenschaftliche Teil wird auch bei der Sponsionsfeier verlesen. Wesentlich ist, dass neben einer klaren Zielsetzung auch das Ergebnis der Arbeit einwandfrei erkennbar ist.