BOKU Website Privacy Policy

General

The protection of your personal data is a major concern of ours. The University for Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU) places great emphasis on protecting the privacy of the users of its website. For that reason BOKU processes data exclusively in compliance with the GDPR and the Austrian Data Protection Act [Datenschutzgesetz/DSG]. This is why we are informing you in the following about which data we collect when you visit our website and for what purposes we process and use it.

This privacy policy will inform you about which personal data is collected when you visit the BOKU website and/or retrieve content from the "boku.ac.at" domain and for what purposes BOKU processes such data and how BOKU handles that data.

The privacy policy applies to those areas of the BOKU website whose content is publicly accessible, i.e. without prior registration (hereinafter referred to as "Publicly Accessible BOKU Website").

In addition BOKU operates several web services which may only be used following registration and/or login. This particularly concerns registrations for lecture courses or examinations, prior registration for a degree programme, lecture course administration, including resource administration, the eLearning portfolio and other internet services. Additional personal data is collected and processed as part of these services (such as, e.g. name, student registration number, address) in order to provide the relevant services. More detailed information will be provided with the relevant services.

In addition, departments, institutes and service facilities of BOKU may operate their own websites, for which they are responsible in terms of the contents. More personal data may be collected on these websites than that which is contained in this privacy policy.

Collection and use of personal data

Data collected when visiting the website

When retrieving the Publicly Accessible BOKU Website those types of data are collected which are automatically transmitted during the use of the website. This data is logged in server log files and systems for the purposes of error analysis. This data includes:

  • the IP address from which the website was retrieved, including proxies
  • date and time of access
  • type of retrieval (e.g. GET)
  • retrieved URL, including server name
  • access protocol (e.g. HTTP/1.1)
  • HTTP response code
  • file size
  • response time
  • type of content of the response
  • previously visited URL (referrer URL)
  • operating system and browser type (user agent)
  • name of your internet service provider

The log files are stored for a period of three months.

BOKU processes this information for the purpose of creating anonymised user statistics, warranting proper operations and monitoring the performance of the website.

Cookies

The BOKU website uses so-called cookies. These are small data units which are stored on the end user's terminal device when they visit the BOKU website.
This allows the website to remember certain entries and settings (e.g. login) for a certain period of time for as long as the cookie is saved.

The BOKU website uses cookies especially to adjust the presentation of the website for authenticated users and, in doing so, make use of the website as pleasant as possible. In addition cookies are used for analytical purposes to optimise BOKU's systems and to improve the quality of the website.

Cookies may be deleted at any time via the relevant settings in the web browser. Moreover, cookies may also be generally deactivated via the relevant browser settings, however this may lead to restrictions in the usability of the BOKU website in some cases.

BOKU respects Do Not Track requirements.

Social Media Buttons

We offer so-called social media buttons for sharing the contents of our websites via social networks. For this purpose we use the open source solution "c't Shariff" developed by Heise Medien GmbH & Co. KG, which provides social media buttons which are in compliance with data protection law. The buttons offered directly by operators of social networks inadmissibly transmit personal data such as IP address or entire cookies already at the time a website into which they have been integrated is loaded and in doing furnish precise information about your browsing behaviour to social media networks without having been requested to do so. For that purpose you must neither be logged into nor be a member of the relevant network. The Shariff button, on the other hand, establishes direct contact between the social network and the visitor only when the latter actively clicks on the share button. In this way Shariff prevents you from leaving a digital trace on every page you visit and improves data protection. By using Shariff we are able to protect your personal data and still integrate buttons for social sharing. For more detailed information on c’t Shariff see https://www.heise.de/ct/artikel/Shariff-Social-Media-Buttons-mit-Datenschutz-2467514.html.

Matomo, Web-Analyse

Data is collected and stored on the BOKU websites using the open source software Matomo (www.matomo.org) on the basis of our legitimate interest in a statistical analysis of user behaviour for optimisation purposes as laid down in Art. 6 (1) (f) GDPR. For the same purpose pseudonymised use profiles may be created from this data and evaluated. Also cookies are used which allow an analysis of website use. For this purpose the use information generated by cookies (including your truncated IP address) is transferred to our servers and stored for the purposes of analysing use, which helps us to optimise the website. The data collected by means of the Matomo technology is only stored on the BOKU server. No data is transferred to third parties. Information generated by the cookies in the pseudonymised user profile will not be used to personally identify the users of this website and will not be merged with personal data regarding the holder of the pseudonym.

Use of data on the basis of consent

To the extent that BOKU processes data on the basis of consent BOKU will inform the data subjects thereof in advance and obtain their consent. In this case data subjects have the right to withdraw previously given consent at any time. The lawfulness of the processing done up until the time of withdrawal shall not be affected by withdrawal of consent.

Disclosure of collected data


BOKU will disclose no personal data collected on the Publicly Accessible BOKU Website to third parties unless statutory requirements provide otherwise.

Right to information, rectification, erasure or restriction; Right to object; Possibilities to lodge a complaint with the Data Protection Authority

Pursuant to the statutory data protection provisions, in particular Articles 15 to 21 of the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), users may at any time request information regarding personal data concerning them, may have incorrect data rectified or erased or demand restriction of processing and/or object to the use of their data.

The relevant requests may be addressed to the offices listed in the "Contact details" section.

There is also the possibility for users who are logged into the BOKU website to make changes to personal data themselves in the case of specific services which are available for such users.

In addition, pursuant to Section 13 of the Austrian Data Protection Act [DSG] users have the right to lodge a complaint with the Data Protection Authority if they are of the opinion that the processing of personal data concerning them is in breach of the GDPR or the 1st or 2nd  Main Part of the Austrian Data Protection Act.

Links to external websites (external links)

The websites provided by BOKU may contain links to external, i.e. third-party, websites. BOKU has no influence on their contents and on the data protection standards of such linked sites. Liability on the part of BOKU for external links is therefore excluded.

Data security

BOKU takes suitable and appropriate technical and organisational measures to protect the users' data against accidental or unlawful destruction, loss and against access by unauthorised persons.

Contact details

• Controller

University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna

Gregor-Mendel-Strasse 33

1180 Vienna

• Data Protection Officer

Muthgasse 11/2

1190 Vienna

datenschutz[at]boku.ac.at

For general and more detailed information on the topic of data protection at BOKU see www.boku.ac.at/datenschutz.

Datenschutzerklärung


BOKU Website Datenschutzerklärung

Allgemeines

Der Schutz Ihrer persönlichen Daten ist uns ein besonderes Anliegen. Die Universität für Bodenkultur Wien (BOKU) legt Wert darauf, die Privatsphäre der Nutzer/innen ihrer Website zu schützen. Die BOKU verarbeitet Daten daher ausschließlich im Sinne der DSGVO und des österreichischen Datenschutzgesetzes (DSG). Deshalb informieren wir Sie nachfolgend, welche Daten wir bei Ihrem Besuch unserer Website erheben und wozu wir sie verarbeiten und nutzen.

Diese Datenschutzerklärung informiert Sie darüber, welche personenbezogenen Daten während eines Besuchs der BOKU Website bzw. beim Abrufen der unter der Domain "boku.ac.at" bereitgestellten Inhalte erhoben werden und wozu die BOKU diese Daten verarbeitet bzw. wie die BOKU mit diesen Daten umgeht.

Die Datenschutzerklärung bezieht sich auf jene Bereiche der BOKU Website, deren Inhalte öffentlich, das heißt ohne vorherige Registrierung zugänglich sind (im Folgenden als "öffentlich zugängliche BOKU Website" bezeichnet).

Die BOKU betreibt darüber hinaus zahlreiche Webdienste, die nur nach Registrierung und/oder Login genutzt werden können. Dies betrifft insbesondere Lehrveranstaltungs- und Prüfungsanmeldung, die Voranmeldung zum Studium, die Lehrveranstaltungsverwaltung incl. Ressourcenverwaltung, die eLearning-Angebote sowie weitere Internetdienste. Im Rahmen dieser Dienste werden weitere personenbezogene Daten erhoben und verarbeitet (wie beispielsweise Name, Matrikelnummer, Anschrift), um die jeweiligen Dienste erbringen zu können. Nähere Informationen hierzu werden bei den jeweiligen Diensten bereitgestellt.

Ferner können Departments, Institute und Serviceeinrichtungen der BOKU eigene Websites betreiben, für die sie inhaltlich verantwortlich sind. Auf diesen Websites können weitere personenbezogene Daten erhoben werden, als in dieser Datenschutzerklärung angeführt.

Erhebung und Verwendung personenbezogener Daten

Beim Besuch der Website erhobene Daten

Bei Aufrufen der öffentlich zugänglichen BOKU Website werden jene Daten erhoben, die bei Nutzung des Webangebots automatisch übermittelt werden. Diese Daten werden in Server-Logfiles und Systemen zur Fehleranalyse protokolliert. Dabei handelt es sich um folgende Daten:

  • IP-Adresse, von der aus zugegriffen wurde, incl. Proxys
  • Datum und Uhrzeit des Zugriffs
  • Aufrufmethode (z.B. GET)
  • Aufgerufene URL incl. Servername
  • Zugriffsprotokoll (z.B. HTTP/1.1)
  • HTTP-Antwortcode
  • Dateigröße
  • Antwortzeit
  • Content-Type der Antwort
  • Zuvor besuchte URL (Referrer URL)
  • Betriebssystem und Browsertyp (User-Agent)
  • Name Ihres Internet-Zugangs-Providers

Die Logfiles werden für einen Zeitraum von drei Monaten gespeichert.

Die BOKU verarbeitet diese Informationen zum Zwecke der Erstellung von anonymisierten Nutzungsstatistiken sowie der Gewährleistung des ordnungsgemäßen Betriebs und der Überwachung der Leistungsfähigkeit der Website.

Cookies

Die BOKU Website verwendet so genannte Cookies. Dabei handelt es sich um kleine Dateneinheiten, die beim Besuch der BOKU Website am Endgerät der Nutzer/innen gespeichert werden.
So kann sich die Website bestimmte Eingaben und Einstellungen (z.B. Login) über einen bestimmten Zeitraum, solange das Cookie gespeichert ist, merken.

Die BOKU Website verwendet Cookies insbesondere dazu, um die Darstellung der Website für authentifizierte Nutzer/innen anzupassen und die Nutzung der Website so bequem wie möglich zu machen. Ferner werden Cookies für analytische Zwecke verwendet, um die Systeme der BOKU zu optimieren und die Qualität des Webangebotes zu verbessern.

Cookies können jederzeit über entsprechenden Einstellungen des Webbrowsers gelöscht werden. Ferner können Cookies über die jeweiligen Browsereinstellungen generell deaktiviert werden, wobei dies jedoch in manchen Fällen zu Einschränkungen der Nutzungsmöglichkeiten der BOKU Website führen kann.

Do-Not-Track-Anforderungen werden von der BOKU respektiert.

Social Media Buttons

Zum Teilen der Inhalte unserer Online-Angebote über soziale Netzwerke bieten wir sogenannte Social-Media-Buttons an. Hierfür haben wir die von Heise Medien GmbH & Co. KG entwickelte Open-Source-Lösung "c’t Shariff" im Einsatz, die datenschutzkonforme Social-Media-Buttons zur Verfügung stellt. Die von den Betreibern sozialer Netzwerke direkt angebotenen Buttons übermitteln unzulässiger Weise schon beim Laden einer Website, auf der sie integriert sind, personenbezogene Daten wie die IP-Adresse oder ganze Cookies und geben so ungefragt genaue Auskunft über Ihr Surfverhalten an die sozialen Dienste weiter. Dazu müssen Sie weder eingeloggt noch Mitglied des jeweiligen Netzwerks sein. Dagegen stellt ein Shariff-Button den direkten Kontakt zwischen sozialem Netzwerk und Besucher erst dann her, wenn letzterer aktiv auf den Share-Button klickt. Damit verhindert Shariff, dass Sie auf jeder besuchten Seite eine digitale Spur hinterlassen und verbessert den Datenschutz. Durch den Einsatz von Shariff können wir Ihre personenbezogenen Daten schützen und dennoch Butttons für das Social Sharing integrieren. Weitere Informationen zu c’t Shariff finden Sie unter https://www.heise.de/ct/artikel/Shariff-Social-Media-Buttons-mit-Datenschutz-2467514.html.

Matomo, Web-Analyse

Auf BOKU Websites werden unter Einsatz der Open-Source Software Matomo (www.matomo.org), auf Basis unseres berechtigten Interesses an der statistischen Analyse des Nutzerverhaltens zu Optimierungszwecken gemäß Art. 6 Abs. 1 lit. f DSGVO Daten gesammelt und gespeichert. Aus diesen Daten können zum selben Zweck pseudonymisierte Nutzungsprofile erstellt und ausgewertet werden. Dazu werden ebenfalls Cookies verwendet, die eine Analyse der Benutzung der Website ermöglichen. Zu diesem Zweck werden die durch Cookies erzeugten Nutzungsinformationen (einschließlich Ihrer gekürzten IP-Adresse) an unsere Server übertragen und zu Nutzungsanalysezwecken gespeichert, was der Webseitenoptimierung unsererseits dient. Die mit der Matomo-Technologie erhobenen Daten werden nur auf dem Server der BOKU gespeichert. Eine Übertragung an Dritte erfolgt nicht. Die durch das Cookie erzeugten Informationen im pseudonymen Nutzerprofil werden nicht dazu benutzt, den Besucher dieser Website persönlich zu identifizieren und nicht mit personenbezogenen Daten über den Träger des Pseudonyms zusammengeführt.

Verwendung von Daten auf Basis einer Einwilligung

Soweit die BOKU Daten auf Grundlage einer Einwilligung verarbeitet, wird die BOKU die Betroffenen hierüber vorab gesondert informieren und ihre Einwilligung einholen. Die Betroffenen haben in jedem Fall das Recht, eine erteilte Einwilligung jederzeit zu widerrufen. Durch den Widerruf wird die Rechtmäßigkeit der aufgrund der Einwilligung bis zum Widerruf erfolgten Verarbeitung nicht berührt.

Weitergabe der erhobenen Daten

Eine Weitergabe der auf der öffentlich zugänglichen BOKU Website erhobenen personenbezogenen Daten durch die BOKU an Dritte findet nicht statt, außer gesetzliche Vorgaben verlangen Anderes.

Recht auf Auskunft, Berichtigung, Löschung oder Einschränkung, Widerspruchsrecht und Beschwerdemöglichkeit bei der Datenschutzbehörde

Nutzer/innen können jederzeit gemäß den gesetzlichen Datenschutzbestimmungen, insbesondere den Artikel 15 bis 21 Datenschutz-Grundverordnung (DSGVO), Auskunft über sie betreffende personenbezogene Daten verlangen, sowie unrichtige Daten berichtigen oder löschen lassen oder die Einschränkung der Verarbeitung verlangen bzw. der Verwendung ihrer Daten widersprechen.

Entsprechende Anfragen können an die im Abschnitt "Kontaktdaten" angegebene Stelle gerichtet werden.

Bei einzelnen Diensten, die auf der BOKU Website für eingeloggte Nutzer/innen zur Verfügung stehen, besteht auch die Möglichkeit, Änderungen der eigenen personenbezogenen Daten selbst vorzunehmen.

Nutzer/innen haben ferner nach § 13 des österreichischen Datenschutzgesetzes (DSG) das Recht auf Beschwerde bei der Datenschutzbehörde, wenn sie der Ansicht sind, dass die Verarbeitung der sie betreffenden personenbezogenen Daten gegen die DSGVO oder gegen das 1. oder 2. Hauptstück des DSG verstößt.

Verweise auf externe Webseiten (externe Links)

Die von der BOKU angebotenen Webseiten können Links zu externen Websites, also Websites Dritter, enthalten. Die BOKU hat jedoch keinen Einfluss auf deren Inhalte und die Datenschutzstandards solcherart verlinkter Seiten. Eine Haftung seitens der BOKU für externe Links ist daher ausgeschlossen.

Datensicherheit

Die BOKU setzt geeignete und angemessene technische und organisatorische Maßnahmen, um die Daten der Nutzer/innen vor zufälliger oder unrechtmäßiger Zerstörung, vor Verlust und vor Zugriff durch Unbefugte zu schützen.

Kontaktdaten
• Verantwortliche
Universität für Bodenkultur Wien
Gregor-Mendel-Straße 33
1180 Wien

• Datenschutzbeauftragter
Mag. Jürgen Gruber
Peter-Jordan-Straße 70
1190 Wien
datenschutz[at]boku.ac.at

Allgemeine sowie weiterführende Informationen zum Thema Datenschutz an der BOKU finden Sie unter www.boku.ac.at/datenschutz.