952144 Storage of horticultural products


Type
Lecture and exercise
Semester hours
2
Lecturer (assistant)
Keutgen, Anna , Keutgen, Norbert , Berger, Benedikt
Organisation
Division of Vegetables and Ornamentals
Offered in
Wintersemester 2018/19
Languages of instruction
Deutsch

Content

Lecture (60%): Causes of spoilage during storage and their classification. Processes occurring in the raw material after harvest, factors influencing the storability and shelf life of produce: genetic characteristics, environmental conditions, cultivation management, maturity, post-harvest treatments, storage conditions, shelf life and freshness enhancing treatments. Storage technologies of horticultural products, processes, application design, regulatory systems, ventilation, atmospheric composition, advantages and disadvantages of the system, ethylene problems during storage. Loading and hygiene of storage areas, packaging, technology and storage conditions of selected horticultural products (perishable and storable).
Exercises (40%): Evaluation of the suitability of the raw material for storage, verification of storage procedures and conditions for various products after harvest and storage period (colorimetry, mass losses determination, reducing sugars, dry matter, brix, titratable acidity, ascorbic acid and selected antioxidants).

Previous knowledge expected

A basic knowledge of crop production is required. The stand-alone work on specific tasks is a prerequisite for completion of the course!

Objective (expected results of study and acquired competences)

Students will learn the physiological, biochemical, microbiological and chemical processes in horticultural products of various origin, which occur after the harvest, during storage, and transport (such as perspiration, respiration, ripening, stress, aging, senescence, discoloration, wilting, mass loss etc.). They recognize characteristic symptoms on the horticultural products and learn an appropriate range of methods and the conditions that lead to an extension of the shelf life and to preservation of freshness and quality as a function of plant material and the intended purpose. They are aware of the potential causes of spoilage and losses after harvest and during storage and can classify them. They know the factors that influence the postharvest behavior, e.g. the genetic potential, environmental conditions, cultivation methods, maturity, postharvest treatments, storage conditions, and postharvest technology. They handle with storage technologies, their types, regulatory systems, equipment design, indoor climate, loading facilities, mechanization of operations, packaging, sorting species and hygienic requirements. They are able to apply the acquired knowledge in the daily life.
You can find more details like the schedule or information about exams on the course-page in BOKUonline.

952144 Lagerung von gartenbaulichen Produkten


Art
Vorlesung und Übung
Semesterstunden
2
Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Keutgen, Anna , Keutgen, Norbert , Berger, Benedikt
Organisation
Abteilung Gartenbau
Angeboten im Semester
Wintersemester 2018/19
Unterrichts-/ Lehrsprachen
Deutsch

Lehrinhalt

Vorlesung (60%): Ursachen des Verderbs während der Lagerung und deren Einteilung. Prozesse in der Rohware nach der Ernte , Einflussfaktoren auf die Lagerfähigkeit und Haltbarkeit: genetische Eigenschaften, Umweltbedingungen, Agrotechnik, Reifegrad, Nacherntebehandlung, Lagerbedingungen, Mittel zu Verbesserung der Lagerfähigkeit und Frische. Lagertechnologien von gartenbaulichen Produkten, Verfahren, Anwendung, Bauart, Regulationssysteme, Ventilation, Zusammensetzung der Atmosphäre, Vor- und Nachteile des Systems, Ethylenproblematik während der Lagerung. Beladung und Hygiene der Lagerräume, Verpackungen, Technologien und Lagerbedingungen von ausgewählten gartenbaulichen Produkten (verderbliche und lagerfähige).
Übungen (40%): Beurteilung der Eignung der Rohware für die Lagerung, Evaluierung der Lagerverfahren und –bedingungen bei diversen Produkten nach der Ernte und einer Lagerungsperiode (Farbmessung, Erfassung der Masseverluste, reduzierenden Zuckern, Trockenmasse, Brix-Wert, titrierbare Säure, Askorbinsäure und ausgewählter Antioxidantien).

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen (erwartete Kenntnisse)

Grundkenntnisse in der Pflanzenproduktion. Das eigenständige Bearbeiten von spezifischen Aufgaben ist Voraussetzung zum Abschluss der Lehrveranstaltung!

Lehrziel

Die Studierenden erlernen die physiologischen, biochemischen, mikrobiologischen und chemischen Prozesse in gärtnerischen Produkten diversen Ursprungs, die nach der Ernte, während der Lagerung und des Transports stattfinden (u.a. Transpiration, Respiration, Reife, Stress, Alterung, Seneszenz, Verfärbung, Welke, Massenschwund etc.). Sie erkennen charakteristische Symptome an den gärtnerischen Produkten und erlernen ein entsprechendes Methodenspektrum sowie die Bedingungen, die zu einer Verlängerung der Lagerfähigkeit sowie einer Erhaltung der Frische und Qualität führen in Abhängigkeit von Pflanzenmaterial und vorgesehenem Zweck. Sie wissen um die potenziellen Ursachen von Verderben und Verlusten nach der Ernte und während der Lagerung und können diese klassifizieren. Sie kennen die Faktoren, die das Nachernteverhalten gestalten, z.B. das genetische Potential, Umwelteinflüsse, agrotechnische Verfahren, Reifegrad, Nachernteverfahren, Lagerungsbedingungen und technische Nachernteverfahren. Sie beherrschen die Lagerungstechnologien, deren Arten, Regulationssysteme, Gerätebauweise, Raumklima, Beladungsmöglichkeiten, Mechanisierung der Vorgänge, Verpackungen, Sortierungsarten sowie hygienische Anforderungen. Sie sind in der Lage die erworbene Kenntnisse praktisch anzuwenden
Noch mehr Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung, wie Termine oder Informationen zu Prüfungen, usw. finden Sie auf der Lehrveranstaltungsseite in BOKUonline.