914325 Forest condition monitoring and tools for forest condition prognoses


Type
Lecture and seminar
Semester hours
2
Lecturer (assistant)
Vospernik, Sonja , Nothdurft, Arne , Eckmüllner, Otto
Organisation
Institute of Forest Growth (WAFO)
Offered in
Wintersemester 2017/18
Languages of instruction
Deutsch

Content

Forest condition can be only described multi-dimensional (yield in terms of natural resources and economic value, stability, regeneration, diversity, structure, habitat quality...). The possibility to assess and monitor forest condition figures on different scales (stand, enterprise, region, watershed,..) will be discussed and demonstrated in the field. To choose between different management options, instruments to forecast forest conditions are necessary. The most important ones among these instruments will be discussed and used in the seminar for examples.

Previous knowledge expected

The knowledge of Forest Biometrics, Forest Mensuration and Growth and Yield is a pre-requsite for this lecture. Students from other curriculae than Forestry are strongly advised to acquire this knowlegde either from textbooks or from the lecture notes for these subjects.

Objective (expected results of study and acquired competences)

The students will underst which key data will have to be assessed for deciding upon the different forest management options under the view of sustainability. They know different methods of assessment, depending on the scale (stand, forest district, management unit, watershed,...) and the objective (conditions, or changes) of the investigation. The are able to use yield tables, assortment tables. They can assess and evaluate diversity indices. They can re-measure and evaluate permanent angle count samples. They know different kinds of models for forecasting growth and yield.
You can find more details like the schedule or information about exams on the course-page in BOKUonline.

914325 Zustandserhebung und Ertragsprognose


Art
Vorlesung und Seminar
Semesterstunden
2
Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Vospernik, Sonja , Nothdurft, Arne , Eckmüllner, Otto
Organisation
Institut für Waldwachstum (WAFO)
Angeboten im Semester
Wintersemester 2017/18
Unterrichts-/ Lehrsprachen
Deutsch

Lehrinhalt

Unter dem Gesichtspunkt der Nachhaltigkeit ist der Waldzustand über viele verschiedene Größen (Naturalertrag, ökonomischer Wert, Stabilität, Verjüngung, Diversität, Struktur, Habitatqualität...) definiert. Die Erhebungsmöglichkeiten (Taxation versus Stichprobe) für solche Zustandsgrößen auf verschiedenen Skalen (Bestand, Revier, Betriebsklasse, Region, Einzugsgebiet,...) werden besprochen und z.T. im Gelände demonstriert. Die Auswahl bestimmter Managementoptionen benötigt zur Nachhaltskontrolle ein Zustands-Monitoring (wiederholtes Beobachten) und/oder Prognose-Instrumente, die besprochen, und im Seminar beispielhaft angewendet werden.

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen (erwartete Kenntnisse)

Die Inhalte der Lehrveranstaltungen Biometrie I und II und Forstliche Ertragslehre aus dem Bakkalaureat Forstwirtschaft werden als bekannt vorausgesetzt. Absolventen/Absolventinnen anderer Studiengänge wird das Studium der entsprechenden Skripten dringend ans Herz gelegt

Lehrziel

Absolventen dieser Lehrveranstaltung können abschätzen, welche Kennzahlen für welche Managementoptionen zur Nachhaltskontrolle erhoben werden können. Sie kennen unterschiedliche Erhebungsmethoden, je nach Skalenniveau (Bestand, Revier, Betriebsklasse, Region, Einzugsgebiet,...) und Fragestellung (Zustandsgrößen oder deren Veränderung). Sie können Ertrags- und Sortentafeln anwenden, Diversitätindices erheben und berechnen, wiederholte Aufnahmen an permanenten Winkelzählproben durchführen und auswerten. Sie haben einen Überblick über Ertragsprognosemethoden und deren Angemessenheit für unterschiedliche Fragestellungen.
Noch mehr Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung, wie Termine oder Informationen zu Prüfungen, usw. finden Sie auf der Lehrveranstaltungsseite in BOKUonline.