913330 Genetics and biodiversity


Type
Lecture
Semester hours
2
Lecturer (assistant)
Neophytou, Charalambos
Organisation
Institute of Silviculture (WALDBAU)
Offered in
Wintersemester 2017/18
Languages of instruction
Deutsch

Content

An essential part of forest biodiversity is the genetic component of forest trees. For all adaptation processes to a changing environment a sufficient amount of genetic diversity is a conditio sine qua non. Therefore, forest genetic resources play an important role in nature protection but are also an essential production factor in forestry. Hence, following issues were tackled:

Measures of genetic diversity and differentiation, genetic variation pattern of forest trees affected in the wake of postglacial immigration history and anthropogenic influence, importance of genetic diversity for adaptation, natural and artificial sinks and sources of genetic diversity, making use of forest genetic diversity through the selection of appropriate provenances, basics in tree improvement including GM-trees, conservation of forest genetic resources, legally binding norms when moving forest reproductive material in trade.

Previous knowledge expected

Basic knowledge in population and molecular genetics (Grundlagen der Ökologie I) is required.

Objective (expected results of study and acquired competences)

The students should be able to identify and apply different genetic components in silviculture and resources management. In doing so basic knowledge of existing legal regulations on forest reproductive material should be also considered.
You can find more details like the schedule or information about exams on the course-page in BOKUonline.

913330 Waldgenetik und Biodiversität


Art
Vorlesung
Semesterstunden
2
Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Neophytou, Charalambos
Organisation
Institut für Waldbau (WALDBAU)
Angeboten im Semester
Wintersemester 2017/18
Unterrichts-/ Lehrsprachen
Deutsch

Lehrinhalt

Wichtiger Bestandteil der biologischen Vielfalt des Waldes ist die genetische Diversität von Waldbäumen. Eine ausreichend große genetische Diversität ist bei allen Anpassungsvorgängen an sich verändernden Umweltbedingungen eine conditio sine qua non. Daher sind waldgenetische Ressourcen sowohl für den Naturschutz als auch in besonderem Maße als biologischer Produktionsfaktor für die Forstwirtschaft von großer Bedeutung. Folgende Themen werden behandelt:
Bestimmung genetischer Diversität und Differenzierung, genetische Variationsmuster von Waldbäumen als Folge postglazialer Einwanderungsgeschichte und menschlichen Handelns, Rolle der genetische Diversität für Anpassungsvorgänge, natürliche und künstliche Quellen und Senken der genetische Diversität, forstwirtschaftliche Nutzung der genetischen Diversität durch entsprechende Wahl geeigneter Provenienzen, gezielte Veränderung der genetische Diversität einschließlich genetisch modifizierte Waldbäume, Erhaltung waldgenetischer Ressourcen, Forstliches Vermehrungsgutgesetz.

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen (erwartete Kenntnisse)

Populationsgenegtisches und molekuares Grundwissen aus der Vorlesung Grundlagen der Ökologie I

Lehrziel

Die StudentenInnen sollen in der Lage sein, genetische Komponenten bei waldbaulichen Maßnahmen bzw. beim Ressourcenschutz einzuschätzen und anzuwenden und Grundkenntnisse der bestehenden Rechtsnormen beim Verkehr von forstlichem Vermehrungsgut anwendungsorientiert umzusetzen.
Noch mehr Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung, wie Termine oder Informationen zu Prüfungen, usw. finden Sie auf der Lehrveranstaltungsseite in BOKUonline.