754342 Food microbiology


Type
Lecture
Semester hours
3
Lecturer (assistant)
Domig, Konrad
Organisation
Institute of Food Science
Offered in
Wintersemester 2017/18
Languages of instruction
Deutsch

Content

# Introduction (Fundamentals, recommended literature, microorganisms in foods)

# Laboratory and methods (Safety criteria for microbiological laboratories; microbiological examination of foods (Sampling, microbiological norms and standards); Classical and novel methods (culture techniques, microscopical, serological, electrometric, bioluminescence, molecularbiological methods, biological sensors, rapid and automated methods of food examination)

# Food-relevant microorganisms: Food spoilage (shelf life, factors influencing the microbial growth in foods); Food poisoning (Pathogenic microorganisms, properties and specific detection, bacteria, molds, viruses, prions, protozoa and other).


# Microbiology of the most relevant food groups: milk and dairy products including ice-cream; meat and meat products; fish and fish products including seafood; egg and egg products; drinking water; cereals, cereal products and pastries, fruits and vegetables; spices; beverages, fruit juice, beer and wine; convenience foods;

# Microbiology of food packaging material.
.

Previous knowledge expected

.

Objective (expected results of study and acquired competences)

After successful completion of the course, the students know the strategies, requirements and options that are relevant in food microbiology. Based on microbiological and food technological fundamentals enables this course the students to link food microbiological questions with actual technological and legal aspects of food microbiology.
.
You can find more details like the schedule or information about exams on the course-page in BOKUonline.

754342 Lebensmittelmikrobiologie


Art
Vorlesung
Semesterstunden
3
Vortragende/r (Mitwirkende/r)
Domig, Konrad
Organisation
Institut für Lebensmittelwissenschaften
Angeboten im Semester
Wintersemester 2017/18
Unterrichts-/ Lehrsprachen
Deutsch

Lehrinhalt

# Einführungsphase: Allgemeine Grundlagen, Literaturempfehlung, Mikroorganismen in Lebensmitteln

# Labor und Methoden: Sicherheit im mikrobiologischen Labor; Mikrobiologische Untersuchung von Lebensmitteln (Probenahme, mikrobiologische Normen); Klassische und moderne Verfahren (kulturelle, mikroskopische, serologische, elektrometrische, Biolumineszenz-, molekularbiologische Methoden, biologische Sonden, Schnellmethoden und automatisierte Verfahren der Lebensmitteluntersuchung)

# Lebensmittelrelevante Mikroorganismen: Fermentationsmikroorganismen (Starterkulturen und Probiotika, wichtige Vertreter), Lebensmittelverderb (Haltbarkeit, Einflußfaktoren auf das mikrobielle Wachstum in Lebensmitteln, Leitmikroorganismen); Lebensmittelrelevante pathogene Mikroorganismen (Infektions- und Intoxikationserreger, Eigenschaften und spezielle Nachweisverfahren von betroffenen Bakterien, Schimmelpilze, Viren, Prionen, Protozoen, u.a.)

# Mikrobiologie der wichtiger Lebensmittelgruppen (Milch und Milchprodukte, Speiseeis, Fleisch und Fleischwaren, Fisch, Fischprodukte und Meeresfrüchte, Ei und Eiprodukte, Trinkwasser, Getreide und Getreideprodukte, Backwaren, Obst und Gemüse, Gewürze, Getränke, Convinienceprodukte)

# Mikrobiologie von Verpackungsmaterialen für Lebensmittel
.

Inhaltliche Voraussetzungen (erwartete Kenntnisse)

.

Lehrziel

Nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung dieser Lehrveranstaltung sind die Studierenden mit den Strategien, Anforderungen und Möglichkeiten der Lebensmittelmikrobiologie vertraut. Aufbauend auf mikrobiellen und lebensmitteltechnologischen Grundlagen ermöglicht die Vorlesung die Vernetzung lebensmittelmikrobiologischer Fragestellungen mit aktuellen technologischen und legislativen Aspekten der Lebensmittelmikrobiologie.
.
Noch mehr Informationen zur Lehrveranstaltung, wie Termine oder Informationen zu Prüfungen, usw. finden Sie auf der Lehrveranstaltungsseite in BOKUonline.