Habiliation


Habiliation Requirements at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna

Dear researchers!
Dear colleagues!

The University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna strives to provide high qualification standards for young scientists. This includes a certain comparability of presented achievements of graduates admitted for habilitation (which is the qualifying examination for lecturing as assistant professor at a university). These junior scientists are of great importance in academic life. The directive should especially help those who strive for their habilitation and serves as an early orientation guide when planning these qualification steps.

The habilitation at BOKU should mainly serve as demonstration of the junior academic's capability to carry out independent teaching and at the same time documents the research capacity of our young scientists to the wider world. This should also enhance the chances for an appointment at national and international universities.

The requirements also serve as orientation guide for the experts appointed and the habilitation commission. Of course, these purely formal guidelines do not substitute their content-related expertise.

The guideline "Habilitation Requirements" ("Anforderungen an die Habilitation") is meant as a supplement to the procedural directive and was new dedicated by the Senate in accordance with the Rectorate on January, 2017. You can download the guideline here:

Habilitation Requirements at BOKU ("Anforderungen für die Habilitation an der BOKU") - in German

The procedure for habilitations was newly allocated by the senate on March 16th, 2016 and by the rectorate on March 22nd, 2016. You can download the guidelines here, currently this procedure is only in German available.

Best regards,

Josef Glößl
Vice Rector for Research

Habilitation


Anforderungen für die Habilitation an der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien

Sehr geehrte Forscherinnen und Forscher!
Liebe Kolleginnen und Kollegen!

Die Universität für Bodenkultur Wien ist bestrebt, die Qualifizierung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses auf einem hohen Niveau zu gewährleisten. Dazu gehört auch eine gewisse Vergleichbarkeit der vorgelegten Leistungen von Habilitandinnen und Habilitanden, denen im Wissenschaftsbetrieb eine besonders große Bedeutung zukommt. Die vorliegende Richtlinie soll vor allem denjenigen, die die Habilitation anstreben, eine frühzeitige Orientierung sein, wenn es darum geht, diesen Qualifizierungsschritt zu planen.

Die Habilitation soll an der BOKU vor allem auch als Nachweis der Fähigkeit zur selbständigen Lehre und als Dokumentation der Forschungskapazität unserer Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftler nach außen betrachtet werden, wodurch deren Chancen auf Berufungen an Universitäten des In- und Auslandes erhöht werden sollen.

Diese Anforderungen sind auch als Orientierungshilfe für die zu bestellenden Gutachterinnen und Gutachter und die Habilitationskommission gedacht, wobei diese rein formale Richtlinie deren inhaltliche Arbeit natürlich nicht ersetzt.

Die Richtlinie "Anforderungen an die Habilitation" stellt eine Beilage zur Verfahrensrichtlinie dar und wurde vom Senat im Einvernehmen mit dem Rektorat am 5. November 2014 beschlossen. Sie können die Richtlinie hier herunterladen:

Anforderungen für die Habilitation an der BOKU - in deutscher Sprache

Die aktuell gültigen Verfahrensregelungen für das Habilitationsverfahren wurden vom Senat am 16. März 2016 und vom Rektorat am 22. März 2016 übereinstimmend beschlossen. Sie können die Richtlinie hier herunterladen.

Beste Grüße,

Josef Glößl
Vizerektor für Forschung

Weitere Informationen zur Habilitation (z.B. Journal-Listen) stehen BOKU-Studierenden und MitarbeiterInnen nach LogIn auf der BOKU-Homepage im Intranet zur Verfügung.