Juračak


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

J. Juračak, D. Kovačić and W. Schiebel:

Croatian farm manager entrepreneurship assessment based on personality traits

Summary

A sample comprising 415 Croatian family farm managers was used in a study on their entrepreneurial characteristics. The locus of control tests and selected personality factors test were used to assess their entrepreneurial traits.

Based on the test results, the respondents were divided into entrepreneurial and non-entrepreneurial persons. Only 6.7 % of tested farm managers entered the group of enterprising persons. Such low percentage of enterprising persons could be attributed to the fact that most of them became managers by a combination of different circumstances (economic and social factors) rather than by their own choice.

Low entrepreneurship level asks from the entrepreneurship promotion policy to focus on creation of such conditions that will make it easier for less enterprising persons to decide to get involved into a business activity. However, an unfavourable sociodemographic structure of farm managers must also be borne in mind.

Key words: Entrepreneurship, farm manager, locus of control, personality factor, Croatia.

Juračak


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

J. Juračak, D. Kovačić and W. Schiebel:

Bewertung der unternehmerInnenrelevanten Persönlichkeitseigenschaften der LandwirtInnen in Kroatien

Zusammenfassung

Mit Hilfe einer Stichprobe von 415 Personen wurden die unternehmerInnenrelevanten Persönlichkeitseigenschaften (der Unternehmungsgeist) der Landwirte an landwirtschaftlichen Familienbetrieben in Kroatien erforscht. Zur Bewertung der unternehmerInnenrelevanten Persönlichkeitseigenschaften wurden Tests bezüglich der Kontrollüberzeugung und für bestimmte Persönlichkeitseigenschaften angewandt. Nur 6,7 % der getesteten Landwirte konnten der Gruppe der Personen mit einem unternehmerischen Denken zugeteilt werden.

Der niedrige Anteil der Unternehmer kann dadurch erklärt werden, dass eine grosse Anzahl der Landwirte diese Rolle nicht durch ihre eigene Entscheidung übernommen hat, sondern dazu durch äußere Umstände gezwungen (ökonomische und soziale Faktoren) wurde.

Die geringe Motivation zum Unternehmertum verlangt nach einer Politik, beziehungsweise nach Bedingungen, die den Personen mit wenig Tatkraft die Entscheidung, sich unternehmerisch zu verhalten, erleichtern würden. Dabei darf die ungüngstige soziodemographische Struktur der Landwirtschaft in Kroatien dabei nicht außer Acht gelassen.

Schlagworte: Unternehmer, Landwirte, Kontrollüberzeugung, Persönlichkeitseigenschaften, Kroatien.