Schulte


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

A. Schulte:

Soil and world development from the viewpoint of agricultural and silvicultural approaches to international cooperation

Summary

With an annual global loss rate of 7-10 million ha of useful agricultural and forestry area as well as productivity losses due to various causes, world soils degradation has assumed alarming proportions despite all conventions, publications and initiatives. At least 15 to 20 % of the total land mass is now deemed mostly destroyed by human activities.

Pedology and above all soil protection and soil rehabilitation have also recorded the process of rapidly growing global interdependencies. However, soil scientists still often tend to consider soil as a local phenomenon in the same way as development politicians. Associations in the German language such as "bound to our native soil", "rooted in the soil" or "have one's roots in" bear witness to the cultural, local embodiment for the whole of society. In the worldwide trends and interdependencies described in the text, soil appears to have become one of the most important "global players", which exerts diverse effects on the world's society, the world's economy and ecology and - to an increasing extent – on world peace too.

The article presents the trends significant for soil and world development and looks into the question as to what extent the interrelationships and consequences have to date been taken into account in international cooperation as well as expounding new possibilities for financing international soil rehabilitation projects which could result from implementation of the Kyoto Protocol.

Keywords: world soil resources; soil rehabilitation: silviculture; development cooperation; Kyoto Protocol.

Schulte


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

A. Schulte:

Boden und Weltentwicklung im Blickwinkel landwirtschaftlicher und waldbaulicher Ansätze der internationalen Zusammenarbeit

Zusammenfassung

Mit einer jährlichen globalen Verlustrate von 7-10 Mio. ha land- und forstwirtschaftlicher Nutzfläche sowie Produktivitätsverlusten durch verschiedene Ursachen hat die Weltbodendegradation trotz aller Konventionen, Publikationen und Initiativen erschreckende Ausmaße angenommen. Heute gelten mindestens 15 bis 20 % der gesamten Landfläche als durch menschliche Aktivitäten weitgehend zerstört.

Der Prozess schnell wachsender globaler Interdependenzen hat auch die Bodenkunde und hier vor allem den Bodenschutz und die Bodenrehabilitation erfasst. Bodenwissenschaftler neigen wie Entwicklungspolitiker jedoch noch oft dazu, den Boden als lokales Phänomen zu betrachten. Assoziationen in der deutschen Sprache wie "schollentreu", "bodenständig" oder verwurzelt" belegen die kulturelle, lokale Verankerung auch für die gesamte Gesellschaft. Im Zuge der im Text beschriebenen weltweiten Trends und Interdependenzen scheint der Boden aber zu einem der wichtigsten "Global Player" geworden zu sein, der vielfältige Wirkungen auf die Weltgesellschaft, die Weltökonomie und -ökologie sowie - in zunehmendem Maße - auch auf den Weltfrieden ausübt.

Der Artikel stellt die für den Boden und die Weitentwicklung bedeutsamen globalen Trends kurz dar und geht der Frage nach, inwieweit den Zusammenhängen und Konsequenzen in der internationalen Zusammenarbeit bisher Rechnung getragen wurde und zeigt neue Möglichkeiten zur Finanzierung von internationalen Bodenrehabilitationsprojekten auf: die sich aus der Umsetzung des Kyoto-Protokolls ergeben könnten.

Schlagworte: Weltboden-Ressourcen; Bodenrehabilitation; Waldbau; Internationale Zusammenarbeit; Kyoto-Protokoll.