Gruber


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

L. Gruber, R. Steinwender, T. Guggenberger, J. Häusler and A. Schauer:

Comparison of organic and conventional farming on a grassland farm

2nd Communication: Feed intake, milk yield, health and fertility parameters

Summary

In a grassland farm at BAL Gumpenstein, organic (BE) and conventional farming (KE) were compared in an interdisciplinary experiment lasting 11 years. The experimental groups differed in the treatment of slurry (aeration and addition of rock-meal in BE), the level of fertilization (147 kg/ha mineral N in KE in addition to slurry), in the method of weed control (only mechanical in BE) and the origin of the concentrate for the dairy cows (from organic farms in BE, Table 1). Each experimental group comprised 7 Brown Swiss and Holstein Friesian cows until their withdrawal from the group became neccessary. In that case they were replaced with pregnant heifers or young cows (Table 2). The feed intake was measured in 12 feeding trials (6 in the summer and 6 in the winter period), each lasting 2 to 3 weeks (n = 83 per group). At the same time the digestibility of the individual forages was tested in vivo using 4 wethers each.

The milk yield was determined daily for the whole experimental group and also individually for each cow every 42 days by the official milk recording.

On a DM basis, the forage ration consisted of 95 % fresh grass and 5 % hay in summer and 56 % grass silage and 44 % hay in winter (Table 6). The forage intake was nearly the same in groups BE and KE (13.4 and 13.1 kg DM per cow arid day, Table 5). In total 1,203 and 1,285 kg concentrate were fed per cow per year in groups BE and KE, respectively.

The OM digestibility of the forages did not differ significantly between the experimental groups (65.8 and 64.5 % in hay, 69.3 and 71.8 % in grass silage and 72.2 arid 71.4 % in fresh grass in groups BE and KE, Table 3).

The milk yield per cow and year was identical (5,867 and 5,877 kg ECM in groups BE and KE), however the milk production per unit area was 2,000 kg ECM lower in group BE due to the smaller DM yield of grassland and therefore lower stocking rate per hectare (7,516 and 9,507 kg ECM in BE and KE, Table 7).

There were no significant differences in any of the health parameters (treatment by the veterinary surgeon, reasons for withdrawal of the cows) between the experimental groups (Table 8). However, there was a slight tendency for unfavourable values in group BE (e.g 5.7 and 4.8 treatments by the veterinarian per lactation as well as 28 and 23 % replacements per lactation in groups BE and KE, respectively). In the fertility parameters, group BE was in part significantly lower (2.3 and 1.9 services per conception in BE arid KE, Non Return Rate 29 and 48 %).

From the present results it can be concluded that organic farming on a grassland farm does not lead to differences in the feed value of the forages, feed intake or milk yield, when compared to conventional farming. However, a lower stocking rate per hectare due to lower DM yield of the grassland has to be taken into account. As a consequence milk production per unit area will be reduced.

Key words: Organic farming, grassland farm, feed intake, milk yield, health and fertility parameters.

Gruber


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

L. Gruber, R. Steinwender, T. Guggenberger, J. Häusler und A. Schauer:

Vergleich zwischen biologischer und konventioneller Wirtschaftsweise im Grünlandbetrieb

2. Mitteilung: Futteraufnahme, Milchleistung, Gesundheit und Fruchtbarkeit

Zusammenfassung

In einem Mähweidebetrieb der BAL Gumpenstein wurde in einem 11-jährigen interdisziplinären Versuch (1982-1992) die organisch-biologische (BE) mit der konventionellen Wirtschaftsweise (KE) verglichen. Die Versuchsgruppen unterschieden sich in der Behandlung der Gülle (Belüftung und Zusatz von Steinmehl in BE), dem unterschiedlichen Düngungsniveau (zusätzlich zu Gülle 147 kg/ha min. N in KE), der Unkrautbekämpfung (in BE nur mechanisch) und dem Kraftfutter der Kühe (aus biologischem Anbau in BE, Tabelle I). Pro Versuchsgruppe wurden 7 Kühe der Rassen Brown Swiss und Holstein Friesian bis zu ihrem Ausscheiden gehalten und danach durch Jungkühe ersetzt (Tabelle 2). Die Futteraufnahme wurde durch 12 Futteraufnahmeversuche mit einer Dauer von 2 bis 3 Wochen (6 im Sommer, 6 im Winter) festgestellt (n = 83 je Gruppe). Parallel dazu wurde von den Grundfuttermitteln die Verdaulichkeit in vivo mit je 4 Hammeln getestet. Die Milchmenge wurde täglich für jede Versuchsgruppe und alle 42 Tage individuell über die amtliche Leistungskontrolle erhoben.

Die Grundfutterration bestand im Sommer aus 95 % Grünfutter und 5 % Heu, im Winter aus 56 % Grassilage und 44 % Heu (T-Basis, Tabelle 6). Die Grundfutteraufnahme war mit 13,4 und 13,1 kg T in Gruppe BE bzw. KE nahezu gleich (Tabelle 5). Die Kraftfuttermenge betrug 1.203 und 1.285 kg pro Kuh und Jahr in Gruppe BE und KE.

Auch die Verdaulichkeit der OM der Grundfutter unterschied sich zwischen den Gruppen nicht signifikant (65,8 und 64,5 % bei Heu, 69,3 und 71,8 % bei Grassilage sowie 72,2 und 71,4 % bei Weidefutter in BE und KE, Tabelle 3).

Die Milchleistung pro Kuh und Jahr war identisch (5.867 bzw. 5.877 kg ECM in Gruppe BE und KE), die Milcherzeugung pro Flächeneinheit dagegen in Gruppe BE wegen des geringeren Grünlandertrages und damit kleinerer Kuhzahl pro Hektar um 2.000 kg niedriger (7.516 bzw. 9.507 kg ECM in BE und KE, Tabelle 7).

In keinem der Gesundheitsparameter (Behandlungen durch Tierarzt, Abgangsursachen) zeigten sich signifikante Unterschiede zwischen den Versuchsgruppen (Tabelle 8), allerdings ein leichter Trend zu ungünstigeren Werten in Gruppe BE (z. B. 5,7 und 4,8 Tierarztbehandlungen pro Laktation sowie 28 und 23 % Abgänge je Laktation in Gruppe BE und KE). Bei den Fruchtbarkeitsparametern war die Gruppe BE zum Teil signifikant unterlegen (Besamungsindex 2,3 und 1,9 in BE und KE, Non Return Rate 29 und 48 %).

Aus den vorliegenden Ergebnissen kann der Schluß gezogen werden, daß die im Versuch angewandte biologische Wirtschaftsweise eines Grünlandbetriebes im Vergleich zur konventionellen Bewirtschaftung zu keinen Unterschieden im Futterwert des Wiesenfutters, der Futteraufnahme und der Milchleistung führt. Allerdings ist wegen des geringeren Mengenertrages im Grünland mit einer kleineren Kuhzahl pro Hektar und damit mit niedrigerer Milcherzeugung pro Flächeneinheit zu rechnen.

Schlagworte: Biologische Bewirtschaftung, Grünlandbetrieb, Futteraufnahme, Milchleistung, Gesundheit und Fruchtbarkeit.