Bickel


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

S. Bickel, W. Wetscherek and R. Leitgeb:

Influence of fat source on the performance of broilers, and on relevant carcass characteristics for consumers

1st Report: Influence of rapeseed oil and animal fat on growing and slaughtering performance of broilers

Summary

Rapeseed oil and animal fat were compared in broiler diets consisting of 59,4 % corn, 30 % soybean meal, 3 % corn gluten, 3,7 % mineral and vitamin premix and 3,9 % added fat. In the four experimental groups 3,9 % animal fat were gradually substituted by rapeseed oil in steps of 1,3 %. Each experimental group consisted of 45 day old broiler chicks which were arranged in 3 replicates (3 pens) with 15 chicks each.

The inclusion of rapeseed oil reduced the body weight gain of the broilers. Feed conversion was between 1,85 and 1,88. Body weight at slaughter was 1873, 1750, 1720 and 1730 g for groups with 0, 1,3, 2,6 and 3,9 % of rapeseed oil, respectively. The lower daily weight gain of the groups with more than 1,3 % rapeseed oil is a result of a lowered feed consumption. The relative carcass yield was not influenced by the different dietary fat sources.

The fatty acid composition of the carcass was significantly influenced by the dietary fat. The saturated fatty acides decreased and the unsaturated fatty acides increased by the substitution of animal fat by rape seed oil.

It is concluded that the substitution of animal fat by rapeseed oil in broiler diets reduces growth performance. On the other hand, the content of polyunsaturated fatty acids of meat protions is changed in a direction desirable for the consumers.

Key words: broiler, fattening performance, carcass, rapeseed oil, fatty acids.

Bickel


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

S. Bickel, W. Wetscherek und R. Leitgeb:

Einfluss der Fettart auf die Leistung von Masthühnern, sowie auf verschiedene für Konsumenten wichtige Qualitätskriterien im Schlachtkörper

1. Mitteilung: Einfluss von Rapsöl und tierischem Fett auf die Mast und Schlachtleistung von Broilern

Zusammenfassung

Tierfett und Rapsöl wurden in Geflügelmastfutter, welches aus. 59,4 % Mais, 30 % Sojaextraktionsschrot HP, 3 % Maiskleber und 3,7 % Vitamin- und Spurenelementmischung bestand, eingemischt. In den vier Versuchsmischungen wurden die 3,9 % Tierfett in Schritten zu 1,3 % durch Rapsöl ersetzt. Jede Versuchsgruppe bestand aus 45 Eintagesküken, die auf 3 Boxen zu je 15 Tieren aufgeteilt waren.

Der Einsatz von Rapsöl im Vergleich zum tierischen Fett wirkte sich negativ auf das Wachstum der Masthühner aus.

Der Futteraufwand lag zwischen 1,85 und 1,88. Der geringe Tageszuwachs bei den Gruppen mit höherem Rapsöleinsatz war mit einer geringeren Futteraufnahme kombiniert. Der relative Anteil der bratfertigen Ware wurde durch den Einsatz der Fette nicht beeinflusst. Die Mastendgewichte lagen bei 1843 g, 1750 g, 1720 g bzw. 1730 g fürdie Gruppen mit 0; 1,3; 2,6 und 3,9 % Rapsöl.

Das Fettsäurenmuster der Schlachtkörper wurde durch die Futterfette beeinflusst. Die gesättigten Fettsäuren nahmen bei vermehrtem Rapsöleinsatz ab, die ungesättigten Fettsäuren zu.

Das Ersetzen von tierischem Fett durch Rapsöl im Broilerfutter verringert die Tageszunahmen. Auf der anderen Seite wird der Gehalt von mehrfach ungesättigten Fettsäuren in eine für den Konsumenten positive Richtung beeinflusst.

Schlagworte: Broiler, Mastleistung, Schlachtleistung, Rapsöl, Fettsäuren.