Steinwender


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

R. Steinwender, L. Gruber, A. Schauer, T. Guggenberger, J. Häusler and M. Sobotik:

Comparison of organic and conventional farming on a grassland farm

1st Communication: Grassland yield, forage feed value, amount of slurry

Summary

In order to characterize organic and conventional farming, a grassland farm with mowing pasture was divided into an organic (BE) and conventional (KE) experimental unit (forage and slurry were stored separately, cows were housed separately, Figure 1-2). The experimental groups differed in the treatment of slurry (aeration in BE), the level of fertilization (147 kg/ha mineral N in KE additionally to slurry), the method of weed control (only mechanical in BE) and the origin of the concentrate for the dairy cows (from organic farms in BE, Table 1). The objective of this 11 year experiment was to compare both farming systems in terms of grassland yield, nutrient content of the forage, feed intake, milk yield, health and fertility parameters of the animals, plus other essential parameters in the soil, slurry and the botanical composition of the pasture, as well as nutrient balances. This communication presents grassland yield, forage feed value and amounts of slurry. In group BE and KE, 5.51 and 4.36 ha were used, respectively (Table 2). Seven cows were kept in each group, resulting in a stocking rate of 1.27 and 1.60 cows per ha. The fertilization and feeding were based on the principles of organic farming and on experimental results from BAL Gumpenstein. The yield of hay and silage was determined by weighing, and the yield of pasture was estimated from the energy requirements of the animals and the energy content of the pasture.

The DM yield of the grassland presented in this paper (7,240 and 9,330 kg DM per ha in group BE and KE, respectively) is typical of this region. The yield of net energy and protein showed analogous differences as the DM yield (Table 3). Only small differences between the experimental groups were found in the nutrient and mineral content of forage. However, there were significant differences in crude protein and calcium in all three forages (hay, silage and fresh grass, Tables 4-6) between the experimental groups, which was partly due to the impact of the farming system on the botanical composition of the meadows.

There were significant differences in the slurry concentrations of nitrogen (4.5 vs, 5.2 g/kg), calcium (2.1 vs. 1.9 g/kg), % NH4-N in total N (31.6 vs. 39.3 %) and the pH value (7.67 vs. 7.40) for groups BE and KE, respectively. Only small differences were found for the other slurry components (Table 7). In summary, organic farming resulted in similar forage nutrient contents, but DM yield from the grassland was 2.000 kg/ha lower than with conventional farming due to lower N input. As a consequence the stocking rate and amount of slurry per hectare as well as the N content of slurry were also reduced.

Key words:  Organic farming, grassland, forage yield, forage feed value, manure.

Steinwender


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

R. Steinwender, L. Gruber, A. Schauer, T. Guggenberger, J. Häusler und M. Sobotik:

Vergleich zwischen biologischer und konventioneller Wirtschaftsweise im Grünlandbetrieb

1. Mitteilung: Grünlandertrag, Futterwert und Gülleanfall

Zusammenfassung

Ein Mähweidebetrieb der BAL Gumpenstein wurde in eine organisch-biologische (BE) und eine konventionelle Einheit (KE) mit getrennter Bewirtschaftung unterteilt, um beide Wirtschaftsweisen zu vergleichen (eigenes Futter- und Güllelager sowie getrennte Stallabteilungen für beide Versuchsgruppen, Abbildung1-2). Die Versuchsgruppen unterschieden sich in der Behandlung der Gülle, dem Düngungsniveau, der Unkrautbekämpfung und dem Kraftfutter der Kühe (Tabelle 1). Zielsetzung des über 11 Jahre laufenden Versuches war, beide Wirtschaftsweisen hinsichtlich Grünlandertrag, Nährstoffgehalt des Wiesenfutters, Futteraufnahme und Milchleistung sowie Gesundheit und Fruchtbarkeit der Tiere, Boden und Gülle, Pflanzenbestand und Nährstoffbilanz zu vergleichen. Die vorliegende Arbeit behandelt Ertrag, Futterqualität und Gülleanfall. Die landwirtschaftliche Nutzfläche (LN) betrug in BE 5,51 ha und in KE 4,36 ha, Bei 7 Kühen je Gruppe errechnet sich ein Tierbesatz von 1,27 Kühen pro ha LN in BE und 1,60 Kühen in KE (Tabelle 2). Die Düngung und Fütterung wurden nach den Grundsätzen des biologischen Landbaues und Versuchsergebnissen der BAL Gumpenstein erarbeitet. Die Heu- und Silageerträge wurden durch Wiegung festgestellt, der Weideertrag wurde über den Energiebedarf der Tiere und den Energiegehalt des Weidefutters geschätzt.

Der Ertrag (7.240 bzw. 9.330 kg Trockenmasse (T) je ha LN in BE bzw. KE) entspricht der in dieser Region zu erwartenden Größenordnung. Die Erträge an Energie und Protein zeigen analoge Differenzen wie die T-Erträge (Tabelle 3).

Im Nährstoff- und Mineralstoffgehalt des Wiesenfutters waren nur geringe Unterschiede zwischen den Versuchsgruppen festzustellen. Signifikante Unterschiede traten jedoch bei Rohprotein und Calcium in allen 3 Futtergruppen (Heu, Grassilage und Weidefutter, Tabellen 4-6) auf: die zum Teil mit dem Einfluß der Bewirtschaftungsform auf die botanische Zusammensetzung der Pflanzenbestände zu erklären sind.

Die Gülle der beiden Versuchsgruppen (BE vs, KE) unterschied sich signifikant im Gehalt an Stickstoff (4,5 vs. 5,2 g/kg), an Calcium (2,1 vs. 1,9 g/kg), im Anteil des NH4-N am Gesamt-N (31,6 vs. 39,3 %) und im pH-Wert (7,67 vs, 7,40). Die Unterschiede in den anderen Inhaltsstoffen der Gülle waren nur geringfügig (Tabelle 7). Zusammenfassend ergab die biologische Bewirtschaftung bei etwa gleichem Nährstoffgehalt im Wiesenfutter einen um 2.000 kg T/ha geringeren Grünlandertrag. Folglich waren der Kuhbesatz und der Gülleanfall pro ha LN sowie der N-Gehalt in der Gülle ebenfalls reduziert.

Schlagworte:  Biologische Bewirtschaftung, Grünlandbetrieb, Ertrag, Futterwert, Wirtschaftsdünger.