Guberac


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

V. Guberac, J. Martinčić and S. Marié:

Influence of seed size on germinability, germ length, rootlet length and grain yield in spring oat

Summary

During 1996, some laboratory tests have been conducted to determine the influence of seed size in spring oat (variety VESNA) on the germinability, germ length and rootlet length. Also, field trial has been conducted to determine the influence of seed size on the grain yield. Seed calibration has been performed and seed fractions (mm of diameter) as follows: 2,8; 2,5; 2,2 were analysed; as well as unsieved seed as a control.

The seed fraction of 2,8 mm has had the largest values of germinability (99 %), further the seed fraction of 2,5 mm and unsieved seed (97 %), whereas the lowest values were attained with the seed fraction of 2,2 mm (95 %). The differences in germinability found between seed fractions have been statistically very significant (P < 0,01). Similar results were also achieved with the seed size influence on germ length and rootlet length, Seed fraction of 2,8 mm had the largest values of germ length (8,3 cm) and rootlet length (9,8 cm), whereas the lowest values were attained with the seed fraction of2,2 mm, respectively (germ length 6,5 cm and rootlet length 8,0 cm). The found differences in germ length and roodet length between seed fractions have been statistically very significant (P < 0,01).

The greatest grain yield of spring oats were attained with the seed fraction of 2,8 mm (4,467 t/ha), and the smallest grain yield with the seed fraction of 2,2 mm (3,376 t/ha). The found differences between seed fractions have been statistically significant (P < 0,05).

Key words:  oat, seed size, seed fraction, germinability; rootlet length, germ length, grain yield, seed stuff.

Guberac


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

V. Guberac, J. Martinčić und S. Marié:

Einfluß der Samengröße auf die Keimfähigkeit, Keimlings- und Wurzellänge und auf den Ertrag von Sommerhafer

Zusammenfassung

Im Laufe des Jahres 1996 wurden Laborforschungen über den Einfluß der Sommerhafersamengröße (Kultursorte Vesna) auf die Keimfähigkeit, Keimlings- und Wurzellänge durchgeführt. Gleichzeitig wurde auch ein Feldversuch über den Einfluß der Samengröße auf den Kornertrag angestellt. Die Fraktionen mit Samendurchmesser von 2,8, 2,5 und 2,2 mm wurden isoliert und analysiert. Es wurden auch ungesiebte Samen als Kontrolle benutzt.

Die Fraktion mit Samendurchmesser von 2,8 mm hatte die größte Keimfähigkeit (99 %), dann folgt die Fraktion mit Samendurchmesser von 2,5 mm und ungesiebte Samen (97 %) und die niedrigste Keimfähigkeit hatte die Fraktion mit Samendurchmesser von 2,2 mm (95 %). Die Keimfähigkeitsunterschiede zwischen den Samenfraktionen sind statistisch hoch signifikant (P<0,01). Ähnliche Resultate wurden auch beim Einfluß der Samengröße auf die Keimlings und Wurzellänge ermittelt. Die Fraktion mit einem Samendurchmesser von 2,8 mm hatte die längsten (8,3 cm) Keimlinge und die längsten Wurzeln (9,8 cm). Die niedrigsten Werte hatte die Fraktion mit einem Samendurchmesser von 2,2 mm (Keimlingslänge 6,5 cm und Wurzellänge 8,0 cm). Die Unterschiede in der Keimlings- und Wurzellänge sind statistisch hoch signifikant (P< 0,01).

Die höchsten Erträge Sommerhafers wurden bei der Saat der Samen mit einem Durchmesser von 2,8 mm (4,467 t/ha) erzielt und die geringsten Erträge ergaben sich bei der Saat der Samen mit einem Durchmesser von 2,2 mm (3,376 t/ha) gewonnen. Die beobachteten Unterschiede zwischen den Samenfraktionen sind statistisch signifikant (P< 0,05).

Schlagworte:  Hafer, Samengröße, Samenfraktion, Keimfähigkeit, Keimlingslänge. Wurzellänge, Kornernte.