Gerzabek


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

M. H. Gerzabek, K. Mück, F. Steger and S. M. Algader:

Leaching of 6OCO, 137CS and 226Ra in lysimeter experiments

Summary

The present report describes the first results obtained from lysimeter experiments started in 1990. The lysimeter plant consists of twelf soil monoliths from four different sites (three replicates each). Since 1990 the following agricultural crops were grown: endive, corn, winterwheat, mustard, sugar beet and potato.

Gravitational water ranged from 3.9 % to 18.3 % of precipitation plus irrigation water, calculated as half years average values excluding the first six month of operation. The two Cambisols on sediments exhibited a mean percentage of app. 10 %. The Dystric Cambisol on silicate rock and the Gleysol showed average values of 20 %.

In 1990 the top layers (20 cm) were contaminated with three radionuclides. The Ieaching of the contaminants 60Co, 137Cs and 226Ra differed distinctly between the elements. The lowest leaching rates were observed for 137Cs, followed by 60Co. The 226Ra-concentrations in the gravitational water were clearly highest of all. However, the comparison of the 226Ra/228Ra ratios in deep soil layers and in gravitational water showed that the 226Ra measured in the leachate originates from the natural contents in the subsoil and not from the artificial 226Ra contamination of the topsoil. The mobility of the artificial radionuclides decreased therefore in the following order: 60Co > (226Ra) > 137CS.

Key words: Austrian soils, leaching, lysimeter, radionuclides.

Gerzabek


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

M. H. Gerzabek, K. Mück, F. Steger und S. M. Algader:

Die Auswaschung von 60CO, 137Cs und 226Ra im Lysimeterversuch

Zusammenfassung

Der vorliegende Bericht umfaßt die ersten Ergebnisse der 1990 in Betrieb genommenen Lysimeteranlage des Forschungszentrums Seibersdorf. Die Anlage besteht aus zwölfmonolithisch entnommenen Bodenkörpern von vier verschiedenen Standorten (3 Wiederholungen). Seit 1990 wurden folgende landwirtschaftliche Kulturen angebaut: Winterendivie, Mais, Winterweizen, Gelbsenf Zuckerrübe und Kartoffel.

Die Sickerwasserbildung lag, unter Ausschluß der Daten des ersten Halbjahres, in den ersten drei Versuchsjahren im Halbjahresdurchschnitt zwischen 3,9 % und 18,3 % der gesamten zugeführten Wassermenge. Die beiden Lockersedimentbraunerden zeigten eine mittlere Sickerwasserbildung von rund 10 %, die silikatische Felsbraunerde und der trockengefallene Gley einen Wert von etwa 20 %.

Die Auswaschung der drei 1990 in den Oberboden eingebrachten Radionuklide 60Co, 137Cs und 226Ra zeigte große Unterschiede. Die geringsten Auswaschraten wurden für 137Cs, gefolgt von 60Co beobachtet. Die 226Ra-Aktivitätskonzentrationen in den Sickerwässern waren am größten. Durch den Vergleich der Konzentrationsverhältnisse von 226Ra/228Ra im Unterboden und im Sickerwasser konnte allerdings festgestellt werden, daß der überwiegende Teil des im Sickerwasser nachgewiesenen 226Ra aus dem natürlichen Inventar des Unterbodens und nicht von der künstlichen Kontamination des Oberbodens stammt. Es ergibt sich daher folgende Reihung der Auswaschungsraten aus dem kontaminierten Oberboden: 60CO > (226Ra) > 137Cs.

Schlagworte:  Auswaschung, Lysimeter, österreichische Böden, Radionuklide.