Werner


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

A. WERNER:

Effects of changing row density and seed rate of winter wheat on plant growth and grain yield in order to implement injection of liquid manure in standing cereal crops

Summary

Field experiments with winter wheat had been conducted on two locations in the Rhineland in Germany (1988 until 1991) concerning the nitrogen fertilization of cereal crops with liquid manure (pig slurry). In order to apply the liquid manure through injection (knifing in) into the standing crop some of the rows of the crop plants should not be sown. Objective of the research was to determine the effects of missing crop rows onto canopy development and grain yield.

For the examined locations having higher nutrient supply there was no yield difference when applying the liquid manure through injecting it into the soil either in every other or in every third missing crop row (used row distance: 12.5 cm).

It was not necessary to alter the site optimal seed rates when changing number of rows. Reduced sowing rates could lead to the risc of yield losses in some years.

The development of the crop stand is not affected negatively when having missing rows. Distributing the same seed rate onto fewer rows leads to increased plant competition within the row. This has in effect a reduced number of ears per plant, higher kernel numbers and increased grain weight per ear and thus enhances growth of the individual plant within the crop population. Through such an enhancement of the single plant these crop stands can have so some extend higher yields than with full row number.

Reducing the distance between plants within the row when having missing rows increased to susceptability to powdery mildew during grain filling.

Key words: fertilization with slurries, crop stand, seed rate, wheat, crop yield.

Werner


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

A. WERNER:

Auswirkung geänderter Saatstärke und Reihenzahl zur Durchführung von Gülleinjektionen auf Bestandesaufbau und Ertragsbildung von Winterweizen

Zusammenfassung

In Parzellenversuchen auf zwei Standorten im Rheinland (1988-1991) wurde untersucht, wie Bestände von Winterweizen anzulegen sind, wenn in diesen die Versorgung mit Stickstoff durch reihenweise Injektion von Gülle (Schweinegülle) in den stehenden Bestand erfolgt.

Die für die Durchführung der Injektionsverfahren für Gülle in Weizenbeständen erforderlichen freien Bodenbereiche können auf den geprüften Standorten mit guter Nährstoffnachlieferung ohne Ertragsverlust durch Auslassen jeder zweiten oder auch jeder dritten Saatreihe eingerichtet werden (geprüfter Reihenabstand: 12,5 cm).

Die für die Standortverhältnisse optimierte Saatstärke muß bei Verringerung der Reihenzahl pro Säbreite nicht geändert werden. Verringerte Saatstärken können unter ungünstigen Witterungsbedingungen zu Mindererträgen führen.

Der Bestandesaufbau des Weizens wird durch die fehlenden Saatreihen (auch bei mineralischer N-Düngung) nicht negativ beeinträchtigt. Die Verteilung der gleichen Saatstärke auf weniger Reihen führt zu einer Erhöhung der Konkurrenz in der Reihe. Diese wiederum bewirkt durch verringerte Anlage von Ähren bei gleichzeitiger Verbesserung von Kornzahl und Kornmasse je Ähre eine bessere Stellung der Einzelpflanzen. Eine derartige Besserstellung der Einzelpflanze ermöglicht teilweise höhere Erträge als bei voller Reihenzahl.

Die Verengung der Pflanzenabstände in der Reihe durch Auslassen von Saatreihen führte unter den geprüften Bedingungen in einem Versuchsjahr zu einer Verstärkung von Befall mit Mehltau.

Schlagworte: Gülledüngung, Bestandesaufbau, Saatstärke, Weizen, Ertrag.