Aufhammer


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

W. AUFHAMMER and E. KÜHLER:

Productivity of Buckwheat (Fagopyrum esculentum)

Summary

To investigate the productivity of buckwheat under agronomical and ecological aspects factorial field trials were carried out. Varieties from Poland, Jugoslavia, Austria, FRG and Japan were used. Furthermore planting density and N-fertilization were varied.

Concerning seed production it turned out that the photoperiodical reaction of the varieties combined with a broad branching potential, indeterminated growth and hesitant ripening were critical traits. Threshing the plots, seed yield levels varied from 2 to 15 dt/ha in interaction between varieties and years. From special samples the seed yield was collected completely without any losses. Differences between seed yields of these samples and threshed plots demonstrated losses of 40 to 60 % by and before threshing. Planting density and nitrogen supply did not influence seed yields.

Results are evaluated economically and ecologically. Especially a quick soil surface protection by leaves, a good potential for nitrogen accumulation and low susceptibility for diseases under actual growing conditions are discussed.

Aufhammer


Die Bodenkultur - Journal for Land Management, Food and Environment

W. AUFHAMMER und E. KÜHLER:

Zur Anbauwürdigkeit von Buchweizen (Fagopyrum esculentum)

Zusammenfassung

In faktoriellen Feldversuchen wurde die Anbauwürdigkeit von Buchweizen (Fagopyrum esculentum) unter agronomischen und ökologischen Aspekten untersucht. Herangezogen wurden Sorten aus Polen, Jugoslawien, Österreich, der BRD und Japan. Darüber hinaus wurden die Bestandesdichte und das N-Angebot variiert.

Hinsichtlich der Körnerproduktion erwies sich die photoperiodische Reaktion der Sorten, verbunden mit ausgeprägter Verzweigungsneigung, indeterminiertem Wuchs und zögernder Abreife, als besonders problematisch. Abhängig von Versuchsjahr und Sorte lag das Kornertragsniveau bei Parzellendrusch zwischen 2 und 15 dt/ha. Zusätzliche Probeschnitte mit verlustloser Erfassung der Kornmasse wiesen jedoch Verluste von 40 bis 60 % vor und bei Drusch nach. Bestandesdichte- und N-Angebotsvariation beeinflußten die Kornerträge nicht.

Neben einer ökonomischen erfolgte eine ökologische Bewertung. Als ökologisch interessante Eigenschaften wurden insbesondere die rasche Bodenbedeckung, gutes N-Aneignungsvermögen und geringer Krankheitsbefall diskutiert.