The current study plan can be downloaded on the webpage of the Study services.



Sustainable development, food security, technology and quality, sustainable food production, biotechnology and sustainable energy are the core content of the master program. With the international Joint Master program thus a unique and competent response to issues such as climate change and protection and promotion of livelihoods is offered in and for the Danube region.

Graduates Learning Objectives

  • to have a deep knowledge of agriculture and food production under the aspect of sustainability in the Danube Region;
  • to be able to network and exchange the most actual knowledge of agricultural, food production and food technology under the aspect of sustainability 
  • to understand the development of Danube Region from point of view of ecology, rural development and cultural history 
  • to have the capability to critically select and apply adequate methods for sustainability in agriculture, food production and food technology 
  • to be able to analyse social interactions in an intercultural context. Due to the intercultural competence achieved, the graduate is able
  • to be solely responsible for guiding international project teams to have interdisciplinary knowledge, competencies and skills in agricultural and/or food science with a major focus on sustainability and sustainable technologies 
  • to have qualification in intercultural learning, which allows a deeper understanding of the cultural and social development of and in the Danube region


The Master's Programme is structured in 120 ECTS; to be obtained within 4 semesters; and also contains compulsory summer/winter schools.


Compulsory courses:        60 ECTS credits
Elective courses:               20 ECTS credits
Free electives:                   10 ECTS credits
Master’s thesis:                 30 ECTS credits

The Master's Programme is divided into 9 Focus Areas of which 4 Focus Areas are compulsory:

  • Focus Area “Sustainable Agriculture” (compulsory – min. 20 ECTS)
  • Focus Area “Food Safety and Consumer Science” (compulsory – min. 20 ECTS)
  • Focus Area “Intercultural Learning” (compulsory – min. 10 ECTS)
  • Focus Area “Sustainable rural and regional development and policy”
  • Focus Area “Biodiversity and sustainable use of natural resources”
  • Focus Area “Soil, water and climate” (compulsory – min. 10 ECTS)
  • Focus Area “Biotechnology”
  • Focus Area “Regional specialities”
  • Focus Area “Sustainable energy systems”

The elective Focus Areas can be chosen according to the students interest and specialization.

More details can be found in the curriculum.


Each student has to study at at least 3 different universities.

In detail, this means that the students have to complete the following schedule:

a)    the compulsory Summer or Winter School 1
b)    Semester 1 at BOKU
c)    Semester 2 at SZIU or BUASVMT
d)    the compulsory Summer or Winter School 2°
e)    Semester 3 at UNIZG or UNS
f)    Semester 4: master’s thesis and graduation at one of the 5 degree-awarding partner universities

(BOKU, SZIU, BUASVMT, UNIZG, UNS) (with co-supervision of master’s thesis by another of the 5 degree-awarding partner universities)

° the Summer/Winter schools will take place either before semesters 1 and 3 or before semesters 2 and 4/ hosted by associate partners

Each degree-awarding partner has to offer courses of at least 30 ECTS credits per semester for students to choose.