Projects


Here you will find current Citizen Science projects of BOKU Vienna.

Biochar: NET-2-U-2

Get involved in the project by doing your own pot experiment in your garden or on your balcony with biochar and beans. Your data will provide an important contribution for determining the impact of biochar on biological nitrogen fixation in bean-plants.

Coordinator: Rebecca Hood-Nowotny

Institute: Institute of Soil Research

Project website: https://biocharnet2u.wordpress.com/

Project Roadkill

In this project, you will be able to actively participate in a scientific project on the topic "Roadkill". In this project we collect data on what kind of animals come to death on streets and what are the reasons for it. Hotspots are identified with your data and an attempt is made to defuse these hotspots.

Coordinator: Florian Heigl

Institute: Institut für Zoologie

Project website: http://roadkill.at/en

Die Igel sind los!

Interested citizens can track down the hedgehog in gardens and find out where hedgehogs live on their doorstep.

Coordinator: Silvia Winter

Institute: Institut für Integrative Naturschutzforschung

Project website: http://igelimgarten.boku.ac.at/

Goldschakal

The golden jackal is a very shy animal and lives very hidden, at a first glance the distinction to fox or wolf is sometimes not so easy - but on closer inspection, there are a few unique features.

If you feel you have seen a golden jackal in Austria, or find a canine animal on your game camera, please notify us of your reference.

Coordinator: Jennifer Hatlauf

Institute: Institut für Wildbiologie und Jagdwirtschaft

Project website: www.goldschakal.at

Fire-Database

In spring 2013, the Institute of Silviculture has created a web platform that enables a simple and system-independent collection and analysis of forest fires. The Web-GIS application "Fire Database" is freely accessible and allows interested parties to query forest fire events and to create statistics or graphics. Similarly, current or historical forest fires can be reported via an online entry form.

Coordinator: Harald Vacik

Institute: Institut für Waldbau

Project website: http://fire.boku.ac.at/public/

“Homegrown - There is nothing like a homegarden”

Farmers homegardens, their diversity of the plant species used and the associated knowledge of the garden managers, are an integral part of the cultural landscape of the Lienz district of Eastern Tyrol. Together with scholars of the BG / BRG Lienz (with professors for biology, mathematics / Physics and English), we examine the diversity and the use of plants in rural home gardens. The results will be compared to data collected from surveys conducted 20 years ago in the same gardens and will help identify transformations of the gardens and their management. Garden managers motivations, attitudes and values towards gardening will also be investigated.

Within the scope of a complementary Citizen Science module the local gardeners will be invited to participate in our research. They will carry out surveys in their own gardens, to explore the perception of the local population about the physical and intangible ecosystem services of homegardens.

Coordinator: Christian R. Vogl

Institute:  Institut für Ökologischer Landbau

Project website: http://www.nas.boku.ac.at/ifoel/arbeitsgruppen/arbeitsgruppe-wissenssysteme-und-innovationen-agwi/projekte/homegrown/

Projekte


Hier finden Sie aktuelle Citizen Science Projekte der BOKU Wien.

Biochar: NET-2-U-2

Werden Sie Teil des Projekts, indem Sie auf Ihrem Balkon bzw. Garten einen „Topf-Versuch“ mit Biokohle und Bohnen durchführen. Ihre Daten liefern einen wichtigen Beitrag für die Ermittlung der Auswirkungen von Biokohle auf die biologische Stickstoff-Fixierung von Bohnenpflanzen.

Projektleiterin: Rebecca Hood-Nowotny

Institut: Institut für Bodenforschung

Projektwebsite: https://biocharnet2u.wordpress.com/

Projekt Roadkill

In diesem Projekt wird es Ihnen  ermöglicht an einem wissenschaftlichen Projekt zum Thema “Roadkill” aktiv mitzuarbeiten. Es wird erhoben, welche Tiere auf Straßen zu Tode kommen und welche Gründe es dafür geben könnte. Mit Ihren Daten werden Hotspots identifiziert und es wird versucht diese Hotspots zu entschärfen.

Projektleiter: Florian Heigl

Institut: Institut für Zoologie

Projektwebsite: http://roadkill.at/

Die Igel sind los!

Interessierte BürgerInnen können in diesem Projekt dem Igel in Gärten auf die Spur kommen und herausfinden wo Igel vor ihrer Haustür leben.

Projektleiterin: Silvia Winter

Institut: Institut für Integrative Naturschutzforschung

Projektwebsite: http://igelimgarten.boku.ac.at/

Goldschakal

Der Goldschakal ist ein sehr scheues Tier und lebt sehr versteckt, auf einen ersten und nur flüchtigen Blick ist die Unterscheidung zu Fuchs oder Wolf manchmal nicht so einfach – doch bei genauerer Betrachtung gibt es ein paar eindeutige Merkmale.

Wenn Sie glauben, einen Goldschakal gesehen zu haben, oder ein Hundeartiges Tier auf Ihrer der Wildkamera finden, melden Sie uns bitte Ihren Hinweis.

Projektleiterin: Jennifer HatlaufJennifer Hatlauf

Institut: Institut für Wildbiologie und Jagdwirtschaft

Projektwebsite: www.goldschakal.at

Fire-Database

Im Frühjahr 2013 wurde vom Institut für Waldbau eine Web-Plattform erstellt, die eine einfache und systemunabhängige Erhebung und Analyse von Waldbränden ermöglicht. Die Web-GIS Applikation „Fire Database“ ist frei zugänglich und ermöglicht Interessierten, Waldbrandereignisse abzufragen und Statistiken oder Grafiken zu erstellen. Ebenso können – aktuelle oder historische – Waldbrände über ein Online-Eingabeformular gemeldet werden.

Projektleiter: Harald Vacik

Institut: Institut für Waldbau

Projektwebsite: http://fire.boku.ac.at/public/

“Homegrown - There is nothing like a homegarden”

Bäuerliche Hausgärten stellen mit ihrer Vielfalt an genutzten Pflanzenarten sowie dem damit verknüpften Erfahrungswissen der Bäuerinnen und Bauern einen integralen Bestandteil der Kulturlandschaft des Bezirkes Lienz in Osttirol dar. Gemeinsam mit Schülern & Schülerinnen des BG/BRG Lienz (mit Professoren & Professorinnen für Biologie, Mathematik/Physik und Englisch) untersuchen wir u.a. die Diversität und Nutzung der Pflanzen in bäuerlichen Hausgärten. Diese Ergebnisse werden mit vor 20 Jahren durchgeführten Erhebungen in denselben Gärten verglichen und helfen Veränderungen der Gärten und ihrer Bewirtschaftung zu identifizieren. Ebenso erhoben wird, aus welchen Gründen Menschen Gärten bewirtschaften und welche Werte und Einstellungen ihr Verhalten in den Gärten leiten.

Im Rahmen eines Citizen Science Moduls binden wir GärtnerInnen und Gärtner in unsere Forschung ein. Sie werden in ihren Gärten selbst Erhebungen durchführen, um u.a. die Wahrnehmung der lokalen Bevölkerung über die materiellen und immateriellen Ökosystemdienstleistungen von Gärten zu erforschen.

 

Projektleiter: Christian R. Vogl

Institut:  Institut für Ökologischer Landbau

Projektwebsite: http://www.nas.boku.ac.at/ifoel/arbeitsgruppen/arbeitsgruppe-wissenssysteme-und-innovationen-agwi/projekte/homegrown/