Here you will find information about the activities in the field of Citizen Science at BOKU.

In general

In general

Citizen Science, in simple terms, is the involvement of citizens in scientific research and has experienced a tremendous upswing in recent years. The University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences Vienna (BOKU) has not only been home to Citizen Science projects for many years, it is also the coordinating body of the Citizen Science Network Austria, which coordinates the platform Österreich forscht, where you can find all important information about Citizen Science in Austria.

Citizen Science at BOKU

Citizen Science has a long tradition at BOKU. In addition to individual projects from a wide range of disciplines, BOKU also includes research areas in which citizen participation has always been part of the research concept.

Therefore, it was a logical step for BOKU to support the platform Österreich forscht and the Citizen Science Network Austria, which aims to promote this type of research across all institutions. Thus, BOKU acts as the initiator of an association that sees itself as logical partner for the development of research in specific fields, but also as an interface to the national and international scientific community and professional practice.

BOKU sees it as a duty and a matter of course to let society, from whose services BOKU is maintained, participate in its work, and to address the societal questions in its scientific and teaching endeavours. Sustainability and the assumption of social responsibility are of great importance to BOKU. Many of the topics dealt with at BOKU are of great importance to society. It is therefore important for BOKU scientists to develop their research results as far as possible in transdisciplinary research with those affected, but in any case to make them accessible to society - be it via freely accessible publications, reports in journals or public lectures and discussions. Also the contact with media as a mediator of scientific knowledge is fostered.

This self-image of the BOKU is also clear in the newly created KinderBOKU in 2008.

Citizen Science


Hier finden Sie Informationen zu den Aktivitäten im Bereich Citizen Science an der BOKU.

Allgemein

Allgemein

Citizen Science, vereinfacht gesagt die Beteiligung von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern in wissenschaftliche Forschung, hat in den letzten Jahren einen enormen Aufschwung erlebt. Die Universität für Bodenkultur Wien (BOKU) beheimatet nicht nur selbst schon seit vielen Jahren Citizen Science Projekte, sie ist auch die koordinierende Stelle im Citizen Science Network Austria, welches die Plattform Österreich forscht koordiniert. Dort finden Sie alle wichtigen Informationen zu Citizen Science in Österreich.

Citizen Science an der BOKU

Citizen Science hat eine lange Tradition an der BOKU. Neben einzelnen Projekten aus den unterschiedlichsten Disziplinen, gibt es an der BOKU auch Forschungsrichtungen, in denen Partizipation von Bürgerinnen und Bürgern seit jeher Teil des Forschungskonzeptes ist.

Daher war es für die BOKU ein logischer Schritt, auch die Plattform Österreich forscht und das Citizen Science Network Austria zu unterstützen, welche institutionenübergreifend die Förderung dieser Art der Forschung zum Ziel haben. Damit tritt die BOKU einmal mehr als Initiatorin einer Vereinigung auf, welche sie als logische PartnerInnen zur Entwicklung der Forschung in spezifischen Gebieten, aber auch als Schnittstellen zur nationalen und internationalen Scientific Community und zur fachlichen Praxis sieht.

Die BOKU betrachtet es als Pflicht und Selbstverständlichkeit, die Gesellschaft, aus deren Leistungen die BOKU erhalten wird, an ihrer Arbeit teilhaben zu lassen, und die Fragen der Gesellschaft forschend und lehrend aufzugreifen. Gelebte Nachhaltigkeit und die Übernahme von gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung ist der BOKU ein großes Anliegen. Viele der Themen, die an der BOKU bearbeitet werden, sind für die Gesellschaft von großer Bedeutung. BOKU-WissenschafterInnen ist es daher ein Anliegen, ihre Forschungsergebnisse soweit wie möglich in transdisziplinärer Forschung mit den Betroffenen zu erarbeiten, jedenfalls aber der Gesellschaft zugänglich zu machen – sei es über frei zugängliche Fachpublikationen, Berichte in Zeitschriften oder über öffentliche Vorträge und Diskussionen. Auch der Kontakt zu Medien als Vermittler wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse wird gepflegt.

Dieses Selbstverständnis der BOKU wird auch in der im Jahr 2008 neu geschaffene KinderBOKU deutlich.