Curriculum


BOKU4YOU Logo

How do I read a curriculum?

The respective curriculum is the legal basis for a degree course at university. It regulates the performance required to complete your academic studies and which academic title is awarded upon completion.

Where do I find the curriculum?

All of BOKU's curricula can be found in their full text version at courses offered.

How do I read a curriculum?

BOKU's curricula are arranged in tabular form. Every line represents a (normally one semester-long) course. The compulsory courses must all be completed. This means that the long table of compulsory courses reflects the contents of the degree program. You should not start to feel uneasy when looking through your compulsory courses.

Thy type of course is also stated and indicated the kind of course as well as whether or not additional tasks are required apart from the final exam or if there is compulsory attendance in the course. The weekly semester hours (SST) represent the number of hours held each week for the duration of one semester. Courses may also be blocked.

In order to receive a certificate at the end of the course, you have to complete the required proof of performance. This might, for example, be an exam, a seminar paper or a finished project. Depending on the complexity and effort involved in providing this proof of performance, ECTS (European Credit Transfer System) credit points are assigned. The aim of the degree course is to complete all required ECTS. It depends on you how long you need to achieve this objective. ECTS represent the work load involved. 1 ECTS stands for about 25 working hours. In order to stick to the defined minimum study duration, you should complete 30 ECTS per semester which represents a workload of about 50 weekly working hours. 

The so-called orientation phase ("Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase"), also referred to as STEOP, has been in effect for all bachelor's programs at BOKU since October 2011. These 2 STEP courses must be completed at the beginning of your academic studies. Only upon positive completion of these two courses are you entitled to participate in other exams from your curriculum. More information on this issue can be found here 

What are compulsory courses, elective courses and free elective courses?

Compulsory courses are those courses that are required. Electives (and also compulsory courses for a specialization) may be chosen individually from a predefined pool and depending on your personal interests. Free elective courses facilitate to broaden your (professional) horizon: all courses that ECTS credit points are assigned for may be chose. These free elective courses can be completed at any accredited national or international university.

Is there compulsory attendance at university? There is normally no compulsory attendance for lectures (VO). Exercises (UE), seminars (SE) or projects (PJ) as well as the combination of lectures and exercises (VU) normally require attendance. Depending on whether or not attendance is compulsory, you MAY or MUST attend the courses. It is crucial that you know the course contents and pass the exam.

What else can be found in the curriculum? The curriculum regulates all issues related to your degree program at university. In some degree programs there is a so-called examination trail ("Prüfungskette"). This means that some courses may only be attended upon positive completion of other courses. Such examination trails must be stated in the respective curriculum. If internships are compulsory elements of the degree program, these also have to be stated in the curriculum.

Studienplan


BOKU4YOU Logo

Wie lese ich einen Studienplan?

Der jeweiligeg Studienplan ist die gesetzliche Grundlage des Studiums. Er regelt welche Leistungen notwendig sind um das Studium abzuschließen und welcher akademische Titel nach Abschluss verliehen wird.

Wo findet man den Studienplan?

Sämtliche Studienpläne der BOKU sind in der Volltextversion unter dem Studienangebot zu finden.

Wie liest man den Studienplan?

Die Studienpläne an der BOKU sind tabellarisch aufgebaut. Jede Zeile steht für eine Lehrveranstaltung, die (meist) ein Semester dauert. Die Lehrveranstaltungen der Pflichtfächer müssen alle absolviert werden. Das heißt die lange Tabelle der Pflichtfächer bildet die Inhalte des Studiums ab. Hier sollte Ihnen nicht allzu mulmig werden, wenn Sie sie durchsehen.

Der Lehrveranstaltungs-Typ gibt an, um welche Art von Lehrveranstaltung es sich handelt und lässt darauf rückschließen, ob neben der Abschlussprüfung Aufgaben zu erledigen sind bzw. ob Sie anwesend sein müssen. Eine Semesterstunde (SST) bedeutet, dass ein Semester lang jede Woche eine Stunde Vorlesung, Übung, Seminar (…) angeboten wird (teilweise auch geblockt).

Um am Ende der Lehrveranstaltung ein Zeugnis zu bekommen müssen Sie den erforderlichen Leistungsnachweis erbringen. Dies kann zum Beispiel eine abgelegte Prüfung, eine abgegebene Seminararbeit oder ein fertiges Projekt sein. Je nachdem wie aufwändig diese Leistung war, erhalten Sie eine unterschiedliche Anzahl an ECTS-Punkten (European Credit Transfer System) zugewiesen. Ziel des Studiums ist somit alle, im Studienplan vorgeschrieben ECTS zu absolvieren. Wie lange Sie dafür brauchen ist Ihnen selber überlassen. ECTS drücken den Arbeitszeitaufwand aus, 1 ECTS entspricht ca. 25 Arbeitsstunden. Um in der Mindeststudiendauer zu bleiben sollten Sie pro Semester 30 ECTS absolvieren, das entspricht einer wöchentlichen Arbeitszeit während des Semesters von ca. 50 Stunden.

Die so genannte Studieneingangs- und Orientierungsphase oder STEOP gibt es seit Oktober 2011 in allen Bachelorstudienplänen der BOKU. Diese 2- STEOP Lehrveranstalungen sind zu Beginn des Studiums zu absolvieren. Die positvie Absolvierung dieser beiden LV´s berechtigt zum Antritt zu anderen Prüfungen aus dem Studienplan. Mehr Infos hierzu

Was sind Pflichtfächer, Wahlfächer und freie Wahlfächer?

Pflichtfächer sind jene Fächer, die verpflichtend gemacht werden müssen. Wahlfächer (oder auch Schwerpunkt Pflichtfächer) kann man sich selber, je nach individuellem Interesse aus einem vorgegebenen Pool aussuchen. Freie Wahlfächer dienen dazu „den Horizont zu erweitern“: es kann jede Lehrveranstaltung gewählt werden, für die ECTS vergeben werden und sie können an jeder anerkannten Hochschule im In- oder Ausland absolviert werden.
Gibt es an der Universität eine Anwesenheitspflicht? Lehrveranstaltungen vom Typ Vorlesung (VO) haben meist keine Anwesenheitspflicht. Hingegen muss man bei Übungen (UE), Seminaren (SE) oder Projekten (PJ) und im Übungsteil von kombinierten Vorlesungen mit Übungen (VU) meist anwesend sein. Je nachdem ob die Anwesenheit verpflichtend ist oder nicht MÜSSEN oder KÖNNEN Sie diese Lehrveranstaltung besuchen. Entscheidend ist, dass Sie den Lehrstoff beherrschen und die Prüfung schaffen.

Was steht sonst noch im Studienplan? Der Studienplan regelt sämtliche Belange Ihres Studiums. In manchen Studien gibt es Prüfungsketten (Lehrveranstaltungen können nur nach Abschluss einer anderen LVA gemacht werden), auch diese Ketten müssen im Studienplan stehen. Wenn Praktika für den Abschluss des Studiums erforderlich sind, dann sind auch diese im Studienplan vermerkt.