BOKU Network for Bioconversion of Renewables


BOKU Network for Bioconversion of Renewables

Today global energy supply and production of chemical products is mainly based on fossil fuels. Due to the shortage of fossil resources and serious detrimental effects caused by climate change it is essential to adapt production processes to be based on renewable resources.  The total amount of chemical s produced worldwide is 400 million tons per year (≈ which corresponds to about 10 % of the global oil production) of which 300 million tons are polymers (= plastics).

A change to biobased products would just require a minor proportion of total agricultural production - provided that we make use of the entire plant materials via biorefineries.

A serious disadvantage of currently internationally established biorefineries is the sole utilisation of plants’ carbohydrates. Therefore a major deal of biomass remains unused or is simply burned.

Third Generation Biorefineries can use the total vegetable raw materials!


Research on biorefineries – at BOKU and internationally


Worldwide enormous research efforts are dedicated to biorefineries. However, most of them still focus on energy recovery (biofuels, biogas or direct burning of biomass). Research on ultimately sustainable concepts remains scarce.

 

BOKU in a prominent position as international pioneer

  • BOKU is due to its expertise in a unique position to cover the entire range of the value chain from agricultural and forestry primary production to modern scenarios of biorefineries and bioconversions up to chemical application of final products (including all analytical, technological, economical and eco-social aspects).
  • There are already existing co-operations of BOKU with universities and companies which are active in the field of biorefineries / white biotechnology – in Europe as well as America and East Asia.

  • Currently the focus of the development of biorefineries is changing. While up to now emphasis was given to the use of starch or refined sugar this is not (ecologically) sustainable in the long run. However, the new developments require a highly interdisciplinary effort.

  • BOKU with its extraordinary expertise fulfills all qualifications to take a leading role for future scientific and economic co-operations in order to develop and implement sustainable and innovative concepts.

Bioconversion


BOKU Network for Bioconversion of Renewables


Die weltweite Energieversorgung und Herstellung chemischer Produkte beruht heute großteils auf fossilen Ressourcen. Durch die Verknappung der Mineralölvorräte und der damit verbundenen Klimaproblematik erscheint der Umstieg unserer Produktionsprozesse auf erneuerbare Rohstoffe unumgänglich. Weltweit werden heute 400 Mio Tonnen chemischer Produkte pro Jahr hergestellt (≈ 10 % der Erdölförderung), davon ca. 300 Mio Tonnen Polymere (Kunststoffe).

Ein Umstieg auf biobasierte Produkte würde nur einen geringen Anteil der gesamten landwirtschaftlichen Produktion als Rohstoff benötigen, vorausgesetzt der gesamte pflanzliche Rohstoff wird möglichst vollständig verwertet mittels Bioraffinerien. Die derzeit international etablierten Bioraffinerien haben den gravierenden Nachteil, dass nur der Kohlenhydrat-Anteil genutzt wird und dadurch ein großer Teil der Biomasse ungenutzt bleibt bzw. verbrannt wird.

Mit Bioraffinerie-Konzepten der Dritten Generation ist jedoch eine vollständige Nutzung möglich!

 


Bioraffinerie-Forschung – BOKU und international  

Weltweit gibt es enorme Forschungsanstrengungen zur Thematik Bioraffinerie. Die meisten davon setzen – noch – auf den Bereich der energetischen Nutzung (Biotreibstoff, Biogas, direkte Verbrennung). Nur die wenigsten beschäftigen sich mit wirklich nachhaltigen und zukunftsweisenden Konzepten.

Die BOKU nimmt international eine Vorreiter- und Vordenkerrolle ein.

 

  • Die BOKU ist aufgrund ihrer fachlichen Ausrichtung in der einzigartigen Lage, die gesamte Wertschöpfungskette von der land- und forstwirtschaftlichen Primärproduktion über moderne Bioraffinerie-Szenarien und biotechnologische Umwandlungen bis hin zu der chemischen Verwertung der Endprodukte abzudecken – inklusive aller analytischen, technologischen, ökonomischen und ökosozialen Teilaspekte.
  • Es bestehen bereits ausgedehnte BOKU-Kooperationen zu Universitäten und Firmen auf dem Forschungsgebiet Bioraffinierie / weiße Biotechnologie - innerhalb Europas, sowie nach Amerika und Ostasien
  • Zur Zeit findet ein Umbruch in der Bioraffinerie-Entwicklung statt. Bis vor kurzem lag der Schwerpunkt der Nutzung von Stärke bzw. raffiniertem Zucker, was sich langfristig als nicht zielführend erweist. Es stellen sich nun neue interdisziplinäre Herausforderungen. Eine fachgebietsübergreifende Vernetzung der Anstrengungen zum Thema "biorefinery / bioconversion of renewables" ist daher das Gebot der Stunde.
  • Die BOKU bietet aufgrund ihrer einzigartigen fachlichen Ausrichtung beste Voraussetzungen Kristallisationspunkt für weitere wissenschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Kooperationen zu sein, um nachhaltige und zukunftsweisende Konzepte zu entwickeln und umzusetzen.

 

 

VERANSTALTUNGSNACHLESE:

27. Oktober 2010, 9 - 16 Uhr - Workshop

"Bioraffinerien - weiße Biotechnologie",

Ort: Festsaal der Universität für Bodenkultur

Programm, Präsentationen & Poster zum Download und Nachlesen